The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Sorry dude, you blew that one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule 8-3-3
Each runner is awarded...

(f) one base beyond the last legally acquired base, if in the umpire’s judgment
the runner was attempting to advance at the time the ball becomes lodged
in an offensive player’s uniform or equipment. If the lodged ball occurs during
play when the batter-runner was attempting to reach first base, the batter-
runner will be awarded first base. Preceding runners will be awarded
bases needed to complete the award.
Also, the BR's leaving the field during a dead ball (as you're walking toward PU) would not constitute an out.

In your play, this is a foul ball. Runners stay put unless they were stealing on the pitch, in which case they advance one base.

Edited to add: you can't rule this a catch, because F2 did not securely possess the ball in his hand or mitt.
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Thu May 21, 2009 at 08:25am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"He caught it in the air, Coach." Adam Basketball 4 Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:15am
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Repeated "Dropped Second Strike" Activity by Coach? IamMatt Softball 9 Sun May 11, 2008 07:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1