The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Let's break down your example to show what you can do:


#2 Jones is batting for #25 Smith.

--Jones is on 2nd. Smith enters to pinch run. (DH is now terminated and Jones has been out of the game once).

--Jones re-enters. (Smith has now been out of the game once and has re-entry eligibility).

--Smith re-enters for Jones (Jones is now done for the day).

--Fred substitutes for Smith (Smith is now done for the day).


But as the original poster noted, there's no concrete evidence in the rule or case book to show you can do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 09:08pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Let's break down your example to show what you can do:


#2 Jones is batting for #25 Smith.

--Jones is on 2nd. Smith enters to pinch run. (DH is now terminated and Jones has been out of the game once).

--Jones re-enters. (Smith has now been out of the game once and has re-entry eligibility).

--Smith re-enters for Jones (Jones is now done for the day).

--Fred substitutes for Smith (Smith is now done for the day).


But as the original poster noted, there's no concrete evidence in the rule or case book to show you can do this.
Starters may leave the game once and subsequently re-enter. Smith was in the game when he went in to run for Jones, thereby eliminated DH. He leaves. He can re-enter. How much concrete do we need?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Starters may leave the game once and subsequently re-enter. Smith was in the game when he went in to run for Jones, thereby eliminated DH. He leaves. He can re-enter. How much concrete do we need?
Exactly. DH is a starter. We always teach if you have the DH you have 10 starters. Go from there.

Actually had a coach do this a few weeks ago and it worked.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
FED Conflict?

I have no argument if a substitute player fills in as pinch runner for the DH.
I would allow the DH to return to DH.

BRD 62 Batter: DH: Player returns offensively
FED: A player may leave the line-up and return offensively and/or defensively under the reentry rule. (3-1-3)

Connecting the dots, can both of them continue in the ballgame in their previous roles?

BRD 67 Batter: DH: Pinch hitter/runner for DH
FED: A pinch hitter or pinch runner for the DH becomes the DH. (3-1-4; 3-1-4 b) Except: The DH is terminated if the player for whom the DH currently hits (or any player for whom he has batted), pinch hits or pinch runs for him. (3-1-4a and c).
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 10:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
I have no argument if a substitute player fills in as pinch runner for the DH.
I would allow the DH to return to DH.

BRD 62 Batter: DH: Player returns offensively
FED: A player may leave the line-up and return offensively and/or defensively under the reentry rule. (3-1-3)

BRD 67 Batter: DH: Pinch hitter/runner for DH
FED: A pinch hitter or pinch runner for the DH becomes the DH. (3-1-4; 3-1-4 b) Except: The DH is terminated if the player for whom the DH currently hits (or any player for whom he has batted), pinch hits or pinch runs for him. (3-1-4a and c).

Connecting the dots, can both of them continue in the ballgame in their previous roles?
No, and there's no requirement stating that they have to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Let me sum this up...

The rules and case plays clearly state that the coach's desire to substitute the "player being batted for" for the DH is perfectly legal.

This would, in fact, terminate the role of the DH for that team. But, not the player who was fulfilling that role. As a starter, he has left the game once, and has one re-entry remaining.

The player being batted for is also a starter and has not yet left the game.

Everyone but SAUmp agrees with this.

If that doesn't prove it, I don't know what does.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Let me sum this up...

The rules and case plays clearly state that the coach's desire to substitute the "player being batted for" for the DH is perfectly legal.
No argument here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
This would, in fact, terminate the role of the DH for that team. But, not the player who was fulfilling that role. As a starter, he has left the game once, and has one re-entry remaining.
This is where the problem lies. The old DH may return to the ballgame and occupy the same place in the line-up as the new DH. But the role of the old DH role has been terminated in the OP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
The player being batted for is also a starter and has not yet left the game.
This guy became the player {already in the game defensively} now in the offensive line-up in place of the terminated DH. If the DH is to return to that spot, wait the DH is terminated. That is now impossible. If the player who was DH returns to his spot in the lineup, the replacement DH must leave the game. Otherwise, FED rules now allow the terminated DH role to become reprised. Huh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Everyone but SAUmp agrees with this.
If that doesn't prove it, I don't know what does.
JM
I'm just asking someone to eliminate some of the the pronouns and state exactly how the termination of the DH role was later reprised by exactly the same two starting players?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 11:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 11:29pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
I think making a faux lineup helps...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
I get lost there.

  1. Able 3
  2. Bruce 6
  3. Charles 7
  4. Davis DH for James
  5. Eugene 8
  6. Frank 2
  7. George 5
  8. Henry 9
  9. Iban 4
  10. James 1
Davis reaches base and James PR for him, lineup card now looks like this, James must bat in the 4 spot as he is running for his DH who batted there. Notice only 9 players as DH has been eliminated for remainder of game. Davis is a starter that has now left for the first time and James who he was batting for is still in the game as the starting pitcher.
  1. Able 3
  2. Bruce 6
  3. Charles 7
  4. James 1 (PR for DH Davis)
  5. Eugene 8
  6. Frank 2
  7. George 5
  8. Henry 9
  9. Iban 4
Davis now reenters for the first time but now must play defense too and still has to bat in the 4 spot. He replaces James in the lineup and is inserted as the first basemen and Able moves to pitch. James has now left for the first time from his position as a starting pitcher and retains reentry rights.

  1. Able 1
  2. Bruce 6
  3. Charles 7
  4. Davis 3
  5. Eugene 8
  6. Frank 2
  7. George 5
  8. Henry 9
  9. Iban 4
James now reenters, as pitcher moving Able back to first, and must do so for Davis in the 4 spot. Davis is now done for the day as he has exited a second time.
  1. Able 3
  2. Bruce 6
  3. Charles 7
  4. James 1
  5. Eugene 8
  6. Frank 2
  7. George 5
  8. Henry 9
  9. Iban 4
Does this help anyone understand that wasn't to clear?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
w_sohl

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
[/LIST]Davis reaches base and James PR for him, lineup card now looks like this, James must bat in the 4 spot as he is running for his DH who batted there. Notice only 9 players as DH has been eliminated for remainder of game. Davis is a starter that has now left for the first time and James who he was batting for is still in the game as the starting pitcher. Davis now reenters for the first time but now must play defense too and still has to bat in the 4 spot. He replaces James in the lineup and is inserted as the first basemen and Able moves to pitch. James has now left for the first time from his position as a starting pitcher and retains reentry rights.
[/LIST]James now reenters, as pitcher moving Able back to first, and must do so for Davis in the 4 spot. Davis is now done for the day as he has exited a second time. Does this help anyone understand that wasn't to clear?
[/FONT]
Ah. Can't argue that. Thanks.
Dumb me was looking at them back in the game at the same time.
Your explanation shows how it is possible to meet both criteria.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 11:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 12:38am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
so basically if he re-enters in the same spot in the lineup, for who was the previous DH, he can do that...but they can't re-enter him in a different spot in the lineup?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 03:56am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
so basically if he re-enters in the same spot in the lineup, for who was the previous DH, he can do that...but they can't re-enter him in a different spot in the lineup?
By DHing for James, Davis and James are locked into the 4th spot in the batting order for that particular game.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 09:35am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
okay, that makes sense...so in a sense, they're still locked into each other because they were connected to the DH
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just to prove that Clinicians don't know all... TussAgee11 Baseball 13 Fri Jan 26, 2007 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1