The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher catching ball in front of the plate. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53244-catcher-catching-ball-front-plate.html)

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 11:23am

Catcher catching ball in front of the plate.
 
R-3 and R-1 on base with one out. The pitcher delivers a very slow pitch which F-2 catches in front of the plate. The batter did not swing, or better yet - was not able to swing at the pitch due to the location of the catcher. The catcher tells the plate umpire -"It was a pitchout." The batter screams he couldn't offer at the pitch without hitting the catcher. The ball probably would have been a strike if not for the catcher catching it front of the plate. Again, it was a very slow pitch. What do you have? Anything??

Emperor Ump Fri May 15, 2009 11:35am

My best guess would be a ball as it never crossed the plate.

I wouldn't want to be that catcher, when the batter decides to swing for the fences. W/o the batter having attempted I doubt I could call CI unless I feel he started then stopped because of the catcher being in the way. And the catcher would get a don't do that.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:37am

I don't know if we want coaches teaching their kids to swing so they hit the catcher to get us to move the catcher back. Doesn't sound like a pitchout to me? I don't care what he says. What if he told you that was a strike? Would you simply agree with him?

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 11:45am

This happened to a friend of mine at a men's league game last night. I told him I thought it was simply a ball. He called a balk on the pitcher and advanced the runners.

Emperor Ump Fri May 15, 2009 11:46am

I can see that - throwing a pitch which does not cross a foul line...

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 11:48am

I have Catcher's Obstruction (or Interference if you wanna play it that way). Looking in the FED's HS Rules by Topic Guide it states that F2 may not catch a pitch until it has crossed HP. BR gets 1st, R1 gets 2nd (on force), and R3 gets HP only if stealing on the play.

jwwashburn Fri May 15, 2009 11:48am

Rule 2.00 (Interference) (b) Defensive interference is an act by a fielder which hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch.

That was interference if playing by MLB rules. Federation has similar language, I think.

Joe in Missouri

jdmara Fri May 15, 2009 11:49am

This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:49am

I like that ruling...a pitch that does not cross the foul line shall be called a balk or an illegal pitch. Great post!

Position of the catcher:

The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher’s box until the ball leaves the pitcher’s hand.
PENALTY: Balk.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 602385)
This is defensive (catcher's) obstruction. 8.1.1F tells us that "F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate". Award the batter first base on this play

-Josh

{I was beat to the punch, darn}

What rule set?

mbyron Fri May 15, 2009 11:53am

This is catcher interference (OBR) or obstruction (FED).

Quote:

Originally Posted by OBR
7.07 If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a
steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of
the ball
, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter
shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Case Book
8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter’s
box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has
made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch.
RULING: It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base
and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not
catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation
provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before
pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1c)


jdmara Fri May 15, 2009 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 602388)
What rule set?

FED as mbyron has quoted

-Josh

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 12:15pm

thank you.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 12:18pm

OBR: So on a squeeze as long as F2 does not step on the plate and the batter doesn't attept a swing that would hit the F2, F2 can catch the ball over the plate and attempt a tag on R3? Am I reading that correctly?

Keefj200 Fri May 15, 2009 12:46pm

As far as I know it was not a squeeze or runner trying to steal home. However, R-1 was attempting to steal 2nd.

GA Umpire Fri May 15, 2009 12:49pm

OBR:

CI. Batter gets 1B. 6.08(c)

If R3 is trying to score on a squeeze play or a steal on the pitch, then CI, batter gets 1B and balk charged to pitcher and all runners move up 1 base including the runner who now scores. 7.07

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 12:55pm

In FED: BR awarded 1B any runner forced is awarded that base as well, and any runners stealing are awarde that base. In the OP R1 gets 2B on either the steal or the award to the BR, and R3 stays at 3B b/c he was not stealing.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 12:58pm

in FED if it's a balk, all runners advance one base...everything after the balk doesn't matter. Dead ball balks.

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 602407)
in FED if it's a balk, all runners advance one base...everything after the balk doesn't matter. Dead ball balks.

I agree a balk is 1 base, and a DB, but don't believe this is a balk.

UMP25 Fri May 15, 2009 01:49pm

One need only ask himself: "Did the catcher hinder or impede the batter's attempt to swing at the pitch?" If yes, it's defensive (catcher's) interference (NCAA/OBR terminology).

Even if the batter did not, in fact, swing, if the catcher's actions prevented the batter from even being able to swing, then one can have defensive interference.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 01:58pm

So, w/ no runners on base, we'd award B/R 1B, just as though he's attempted to swing and hit the mitt that was out over the plate. Is the 'buffer zone' considered the plate? Or is that strictly umpire judgement? I know this sounds like a dumb question, but the batter does absorb some burden on attempting to hit the pitch, correct?

UMP25 Fri May 15, 2009 02:08pm

There isn't any buffer zone, per se; rather, it's just that he has to be able to at least make a legitimate attempt to swing unperturbed at the pitch. If the catcher is on or in front of the plate, there's no way the batter is going to be able to do this. Consequently, we have defensive interference.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 02:10pm

I agree with you...but what about behind that plate? (I didn't specify that in my earlier question) Outside of the blatantly late swing, is the catcher protected like any other fielder, in that he has a right to attempt to field the ball behind home plate...in this case, the pitched ball?

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 602430)
I agree with you...but what about behind that plate? (I didn't specify that in my earlier question) Outside of the blatantly late swing, is the catcher protected like any other fielder, in that he has a right to attempt to field the ball behind home plate...in this case, the pitched ball?

Ah but... this is not a ball that has been hit, it has been thrown. What protection hath a fielder on a throw?

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 02:16pm

I understand that Rube...I guess I wasn't asking in relation to the OP...this is a one-off question...if you will.

Ump Rube Fri May 15, 2009 02:18pm

I think that I understand what you are asking, but for the sake of saving me the ripping that might ensue from answering a question not asked, can you restate your question succinctly?

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 02:24pm

A one off question a tiny-bit in relation to the OP:

Outside of the blatantly late swing, is the catcher protected like any other fielder, in that he has a right to attempt to field the ball behind home plate...in this case, the pitched ball?

GA Umpire Fri May 15, 2009 03:01pm

F2 only has a right to get the ball after the batter has had a complete, uninterrupted chance to hit the ball.

Meaning, until the ball has completely passed the plate and the batter takes no chance to hit the ball while in flight. For the plate, remember, the ball has to cross the foul line(s) to be a pitch. For the takes no chance, if the batter swings at the ball while it is still in flight and not with the obvious intent to hit the F2's glove(such as a really late swing), then F2 better not hinder him. If the ball is no longer in flight(and bouncing is still in flight), ie. it is completely in the F2's glove, then he cannot be interfered with anymore.

So, if the catcher catches the ball behind the plate and is starting to throw to 2B, then the batter can no longer be interfered with. Now, it is the catcher that can be interfered with.

JJ Fri May 15, 2009 07:37pm

Today in my D1 game the runner from third tried to steal home. The catcher, realizing this, jumped out from behind the plate and into the batter's box opposite the batter to catch the pitch and try to get the tag down. The batter did not attempt a swing, and the catcher was not in front of the plate. A balk was called and the run scored, but there was no catcher's interference - just a balk for the catcher being clearly out of the catcher's box (in this case with BOTH feet) at the time the pitch was released.
Fun stuff.

JJ

GA Umpire Fri May 15, 2009 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 602519)
Today in my D1 game the runner from third tried to steal home. The catcher, realizing this, jumped out from behind the plate and into the batter's box opposite the batter to catch the pitch and try to get the tag down. The batter did not attempt a swing, and the catcher was not in front of the plate. A balk was called and the run scored, but there was no catcher's interference - just a balk for the catcher being clearly out of the catcher's box (in this case with BOTH feet) at the time the pitch was released.
Fun stuff.

JJ

That is only if he was out of the box before the TOP. If it happened after the TOP, then a balk is called and CI is called for the batter to be given 1B.

However, did the runner break before the pitcher started any movement and the catcher was out of the box? If the catcher was out of the box after the pitcher started his delivery, then a balk and CI should have been called. TOP is considered to have started when the pitcher starts his delivery, not when he releases the ball. He interfered with the batter's chance to hit the ball and he did it after the pitcher began his delivery of the ball(which is when TOP occurs). So, to call a balk and not CI was wrong. It should have been both.

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:42pm

nice posts from the D1 game...these are great things to talk through on here

JJ Sat May 16, 2009 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 602523)
That is only if he was out of the box before the TOP. If it happened after the TOP, then a balk is called and CI is called for the batter to be given 1B.

However, did the runner break before the pitcher started any movement and the catcher was out of the box? If the catcher was out of the box after the pitcher started his delivery, then a balk and CI should have been called. TOP is considered to have started when the pitcher starts his delivery, not when he releases the ball. He interfered with the batter's chance to hit the ball and he did it after the pitcher began his delivery of the ball(which is when TOP occurs). So, to call a balk and not CI was wrong. It should have been both.

NCAA
9-3-i It's a balk when "The pitcher pitches while the catcher is not in the catcher's box. The catcher must have both feet in the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk. The ball becomes dead and each runner must advance one base."
The catcher did not hinder the batter's ability to swing at the pitch. In this case he was just out of the box before the ball left the pitcher's hand. No CI.

JJ

umpjong Sat May 16, 2009 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 602449)
F2 only has a right to get the ball after the batter has had a complete, uninterrupted chance to hit the ball.

Meaning, until the ball has completely passed the plate and the batter takes no chance to hit the ball while in flight. For the plate, remember, the ball has to cross the foul line(s) to be a pitch. For the takes no chance, if the batter swings at the ball while it is still in flight and not with the obvious intent to hit the F2's glove(such as a really late swing), then F2 better not hinder him. If the ball is no longer in flight(and bouncing is still in flight), ie. it is completely in the F2's glove, then he cannot be interfered with anymore.

So, if the catcher catches the ball behind the plate and is starting to throw to 2B, then the batter can no longer be interfered with. Now, it is the catcher that can be interfered with.

Not so fast... How about the catcher who reaches up and snares the low pitch right on top of the plate trying to get the low strike call. (Add a swing by the batter also if you like.) I'm not going to call anything on this (except maybe strike ;)) unless batter actually makes contact with the glove, or catcher.

GA Umpire Sun May 17, 2009 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 602672)
Not so fast... How about the catcher who reaches up and snares the low pitch right on top of the plate trying to get the low strike call. (Add a swing by the batter also if you like.) I'm not going to call anything on this (except maybe strike ;)) unless batter actually makes contact with the glove, or catcher.

Believe me. I am not going to make that call. If it hits the mitt and the batter had his chance to hit it, then I will not call it anything other than what the pitch was. To call anything else b/c the batter let the ball go by or swung and missed would be the wrong end. Even if the catcher has his glove over HP. The batter has to make an attempt of some kind(no matter how small) to hit the ball. Then, I will consider where F2 is if it is really obvious that he was in a position to hinder the batter and the batter did not swing b/c of F2.

Otherwise, I call the pitch or, as pointed out for NCAA, call any other rule which may have been violated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1