The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher catching ball in front of the plate. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53244-catcher-catching-ball-front-plate.html)

johnnyg08 Fri May 15, 2009 11:42pm

nice posts from the D1 game...these are great things to talk through on here

JJ Sat May 16, 2009 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 602523)
That is only if he was out of the box before the TOP. If it happened after the TOP, then a balk is called and CI is called for the batter to be given 1B.

However, did the runner break before the pitcher started any movement and the catcher was out of the box? If the catcher was out of the box after the pitcher started his delivery, then a balk and CI should have been called. TOP is considered to have started when the pitcher starts his delivery, not when he releases the ball. He interfered with the batter's chance to hit the ball and he did it after the pitcher began his delivery of the ball(which is when TOP occurs). So, to call a balk and not CI was wrong. It should have been both.

NCAA
9-3-i It's a balk when "The pitcher pitches while the catcher is not in the catcher's box. The catcher must have both feet in the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk. The ball becomes dead and each runner must advance one base."
The catcher did not hinder the batter's ability to swing at the pitch. In this case he was just out of the box before the ball left the pitcher's hand. No CI.

JJ

umpjong Sat May 16, 2009 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 602449)
F2 only has a right to get the ball after the batter has had a complete, uninterrupted chance to hit the ball.

Meaning, until the ball has completely passed the plate and the batter takes no chance to hit the ball while in flight. For the plate, remember, the ball has to cross the foul line(s) to be a pitch. For the takes no chance, if the batter swings at the ball while it is still in flight and not with the obvious intent to hit the F2's glove(such as a really late swing), then F2 better not hinder him. If the ball is no longer in flight(and bouncing is still in flight), ie. it is completely in the F2's glove, then he cannot be interfered with anymore.

So, if the catcher catches the ball behind the plate and is starting to throw to 2B, then the batter can no longer be interfered with. Now, it is the catcher that can be interfered with.

Not so fast... How about the catcher who reaches up and snares the low pitch right on top of the plate trying to get the low strike call. (Add a swing by the batter also if you like.) I'm not going to call anything on this (except maybe strike ;)) unless batter actually makes contact with the glove, or catcher.

GA Umpire Sun May 17, 2009 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 602672)
Not so fast... How about the catcher who reaches up and snares the low pitch right on top of the plate trying to get the low strike call. (Add a swing by the batter also if you like.) I'm not going to call anything on this (except maybe strike ;)) unless batter actually makes contact with the glove, or catcher.

Believe me. I am not going to make that call. If it hits the mitt and the batter had his chance to hit it, then I will not call it anything other than what the pitch was. To call anything else b/c the batter let the ball go by or swung and missed would be the wrong end. Even if the catcher has his glove over HP. The batter has to make an attempt of some kind(no matter how small) to hit the ball. Then, I will consider where F2 is if it is really obvious that he was in a position to hinder the batter and the batter did not swing b/c of F2.

Otherwise, I call the pitch or, as pointed out for NCAA, call any other rule which may have been violated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1