![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Runner misses first, second or third. Scrambles back to missed base. F* touches bag before runner gets back, "he missed (the base)" Me, BU, "you're right. HE'S OUT." I do not subscribe to the J/R interps concerning this. If there is an official OBR or PBUC interp, please let me know. The MLBUM seems to support this by saying either the base or runner needs to be tagged. If they wanted to distinguish between "relaxed/unrelaxed" actions, I would think they would have addressed this in their ruling such as they did with plays at the plate. Last edited by UmpTTS43; Fri May 08, 2009 at 10:21pm. Reason: mo info |
|
|||
|
I did not see the play or the video, however I would say he used incorrect mechanics based on today's interpretations. If the tag of first was not deemed an "unmistakable appeal" then I can see how it was not upheld. There are still too many differing interps considering missed base appeals. The only ones in print, that I know of are: MLBUM, which seems pretty clear to me, Wendelstedt and J/R, both of which are contradictory. I have always viewed J/R as AN interpretation, not an OFFICIAL interpretation.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Last edited by UmpTTS43; Fri May 08, 2009 at 11:24pm. |
|
|||
|
7.10 redundant?
Quote:
The conflict resides in a runner who "legally" acquires the right to a base upon passing it and a runner who does not "legally" acquire the right to a base upon passing it. Tagging a base applies applies to a) "force" plays, b) a runner's failure to immediately return to a base, c) a runner's failure to immediately retouch a base, and d) a runner who cannot legally return to retouch, ala running the bases in legal order. Add another runner advancing on the same OP play and ask if a proper appeal would be granted to F3 if he tags the base, failed to tag B/R, and then immediately threw the ball to catch another runner off a base?
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sat May 09, 2009 at 08:41am. |
|
|||
|
Isn't advancing passed a missed base an assumed touch until there's an unmistakable appeal...so in the play, since you didn't see it..."B/R hits a bouncer down the first base line...pithcer snags the ball, attempts a tag, tags the B/R, ball comes out, B/R falls completey over and past 1B...defense gets the ball and throws to 1B where F3 catches the ball with his foot on the base. The throw beats the runner to the base as B/R is crawling back to touch 1B"...no tag is attempted. Runner is not called out.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Once a baserunner has passed a base, whether touching it or not, he has "legally acquired" that base. If he missed the base, it is now an appeal play and he is subject to be called out on appeal although the has "legally acquired" the base. This is true even at home. The appeal procedures are different at home versus the other bases and are defined for missed home appeals. What I don't understand, is why people feel it correct to take the missed home appeal process and apply it to the other bases. If that was true, we would not have a rule specifically for home plate. If a runner misses a base, he can be called out on appeal by either being tagged, while off of the base, or the missed base being tagged, while he is off of the base. |
|
|||
|
Okay, so are you saying that Diaz was wrong and he should've been called out? Based upon your above post...assuming all that all of your information is factual...then you should have an out there. No?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Error Mr. Robinson
Quote:
6.08(c), what a place to hide this gem. Well Johnnyg08, my venture in this thread has come about full circle. I do hope someone will answer your questions soon. I will now retire from this thread. I'm not holding my breath any longer for a more "authoritative" opinion than 6.08(c) and 7.04(d). Good luck getting the guys to spill the beans! Ump153 and SethPDX have nothing. Laz was right. We knew that in the OP. It was fun. Tick, Tick, Tick, ...
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun May 10, 2009 at 04:32pm. |
|
|||
|
Conflicts w/ OBR
Quote:
Directly from OBR, "The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out." Directly from MLBUM, "It does not apply to the ordinary play where the runner misses the plate and then immediately makes an effort to touch the plate before being tagged. In that case, the runner must be tagged." MLBUM's play at the plate is directly supported by OBR.
__________________
SAump
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Go Tigers | schmitty1973 | Football | 6 | Sun Aug 20, 2006 06:10pm |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Tigers Win!!! Tigers Win !! | mick | Basketball | 19 | Tue Sep 30, 2003 06:19pm |