The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 13, 2003, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 31
"When the pitcher disengages the rubber,

...he must drop his hands to his sides" is the exact sentence from ORB. It says "when" he disengages, not "before he re-engages."

I find you are correct in practice, since I have never seen a balk called on the "step back throw to first move" when the pitcher keeps his hands up and raises his throwing arm immediately without dropping it. Yet the rule seems very clearly to indicate failure to do not is not legal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1