The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Welll.....

...Mr. Danley did not exactly cover himself with glory this evening.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Yeah, those games happen even World Series guys. He's got to be an excellent umpire in order to earn the Series, but still--tough night for him.

BTW, fashion plates--he wore a hat under his HSM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by SethPDX View Post

BTW, fashion plates--he wore a hat under his HSM.
He also wore one of those collars that dogs wear after they come back from the vets under his deep sea divers helmet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt View Post
He also wore one of those collars that dogs wear after they come back from the vets under his deep sea divers helmet.


I just got a rug burn when I fell out of my chair.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan View Post
...Mr. Danley did not exactly cover himself with glory this evening.
Because?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
Because?
Great! Another apologist. Did you even watch the game?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzUmp View Post
Great! Another apologist. Did you even watch the game?

Yeah , I did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
... Ahem... he rang a guy on a check swing and then asked the first base umpire if he swung ...and then Rollins got nicked pretty clearly and Danley kept him at the plate and helped kill a key rally.

I love the guy and I work in the same unit with his big brother. They're both great guys. Kerwin gives a lot back, too. But it was a nightmarish kind of outing for him. He didn't leave on a gurney this time, so it was only his second worst game of the season. Now he gets to hang out down the left field line and listen to all those Philly fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty View Post
... Ahem... he rang a guy on a check swing and then asked the first base umpire if he swung ...and then Rollins got nicked pretty clearly and Danley kept him at the plate and helped kill a key rally.

I love the guy and I work in the same unit with his big brother. They're both great guys. Kerwin gives a lot back, too. But it was a nightmarish kind of outing for him. He didn't leave on a gurney this time, so it was only his second worst game of the season. Now he gets to hang out down the left field line and listen to all those Philly fans.

I'm one of the biggest 'dont knock it till you are there' guys, but even by most modest standards this was a bad, bad outing. The check swing incident was all but unbelievable at this level... I don't know what happened to the thought process on that one.

Oh well, as you say, he's sure to have fun in Philly. Ce la vie.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan View Post
I'm one of the biggest 'dont knock it till you are there' guys, but even by most modest standards this was a bad, bad outing. The check swing incident was all but unbelievable at this level... I don't know what happened to the thought process on that one.Ce la vie.
Here's what I think happened after watching it a few times.

The pitch was initially called a strike - that is quite obvious. But the catcher was asking for an appeal on the swing even before he was aware that the PU was in the process of ruling it a strike. If you watch, the catcher appeals very quickly.

Since it is a policy to honor all check swings (but only on pitches called a ball), I think the PU instinctively honored the appeal, momentarily not realizing that he had just signaled the pitch as a strike. In fact, the umpire did not finish his third strike mechanic as he was interrupted by the catcher's prompt appeal. The PU went from "third strike mechanic mode" into "appeal mode".

Just a brain fart.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling View Post
Here's what I think happened after watching it a few times.

The pitch was initially called a strike - that is quite obvious. But the catcher was asking for an appeal on the swing even before he was aware that the PU was in the process of ruling it a strike. If you watch, the catcher appeals very quickly.

Since it is a policy to honor all check swings (but only on pitches called a ball), I think the PU instinctively honored the appeal, momentarily not realizing that he had just signaled the pitch as a strike. In fact, the umpire did not finish his third strike mechanic as he was interrupted by the catcher's prompt appeal. The PU went from "third strike mechanic mode" into "appeal mode".

Just a brain fart.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
I think he started to call strike three and changed his mind and called for help on the swing.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty View Post
... Ahem... he rang a guy on a check swing and then asked the first base umpire if he swung ...and then Rollins got nicked pretty clearly and Danley kept him at the plate and helped kill a key rally.

I love the guy and I work in the same unit with his big brother. They're both great guys. Kerwin gives a lot back, too. But it was a nightmarish kind of outing for him. He didn't leave on a gurney this time, so it was only his second worst game of the season. Now he gets to hang out down the left field line and listen to all those Philly fans.
I am sure he is just shaking at the thought.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
I gotta kinda blame the 1st base umpire as well.

He should have banged the guy. The check was close enough to go either way (at least the replay I saw) and if he would have pumped him out it would have bailed out Kerwin at that plate.

One of the few times in my opinion that you have to bang the batter out from the wing regardless. At least in a "protect the crew" mentality.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pensaump View Post
I gotta kinda blame the 1st base umpire as well.

He should have banged the guy. The check was close enough to go either way (at least the replay I saw) and if he would have pumped him out it would have bailed out Kerwin at that plate.

One of the few times in my opinion that you have to bang the batter out from the wing regardless. At least in a "protect the crew" mentality.
Precisely! Definitely close enough, and definitely would have bailed him out of the screwed up mechanic. It was just a fart that made his arm go up, and then Culbreth burned him. Brutal.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pensaump View Post
I gotta kinda blame the 1st base umpire as well.

He should have banged the guy. The check was close enough to go either way (at least the replay I saw) and if he would have pumped him out it would have bailed out Kerwin at that plate.

One of the few times in my opinion that you have to bang the batter out from the wing regardless. At least in a "protect the crew" mentality.
I thought Culbreth was trying to "protect the crew" with his no swing call. However, I would have pumped him out and dealt with the consequences if I was at 1B and that happened to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1