The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrm21711 View Post
Im saying under NFHS (and the NFHS rule pretty much seems to apply to the above situation) the run wouldnt score because at the moment the MC occurs the ball is dead and the runner is automatically out. Right?
The runner is not out because the AWARD of home occurred before the MC. Even though the ball is dead on the MC, the ejected runner is permitted to complete the base award.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
The runner is not out because the AWARD of home occurred before the MC. Even though the ball is dead on the MC, the ejected runner is permitted to complete the base award.
No. Assuming you are referring to NFHS, the following caseplay shows that runner is out, and the run does not score.

"3.3.1 SITUATION S: With two outs and the bases loaded, B6 hits a home run out of the park. R3 maliciously runs over (a) F4 before touching second base or (b) F5 before touching third. RULING: In both (a) and (b), R3 is declared out and ejected. In (a), the third out is a force, so no runs score. In (b), the third out was not a force play, so runners who have touched the plate prior to the infraction would score. Please note that in awarded situations it is not the base that is awarded, but rather the right to advance and legally touch a base with no play being made."

Note that in screwy FED notation R3 means the runner who was on first base.

R3 (usually termed R1) is awarded home by the home run, but he is not allowed to complete the award, because he is declared out for malicious contact.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Reed View Post
No. Assuming you are referring to NFHS, the following caseplay shows that runner is out, and the run does not score.

"3.3.1 SITUATION S: With two outs and the bases loaded, B6 hits a home run out of the park. R3 maliciously runs over (a) F4 before touching second base or (b) F5 before touching third. RULING: In both (a) and (b), R3 is declared out and ejected. In (a), the third out is a force, so no runs score. In (b), the third out was not a force play, so runners who have touched the plate prior to the infraction would score. Please note that in awarded situations it is not the base that is awarded, but rather the right to advance and legally touch a base with no play being made."

Note that in screwy FED notation R3 means the runner who was on first base.

R3 (usually termed R1) is awarded home by the home run, but he is not allowed to complete the award, because he is declared out for malicious contact.
FYI - I was referring to NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
We had a play that was a lot like this, and the PU ruled that the run counted, but the runner was out/ejected. My take at the time was that the MC superceded the OB and the run shouldn't count. It also seems like it's only fair that way anyway. But he ruled that the run counted.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
After reading the rule (which I should have done in the first place), I agree with Dave. The run only counts if it was SCORED (not awarded) before the MC. To answer my own question above, I would call the batter out and toss him. He loses the award.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Reed View Post
No. Assuming you are referring to NFHS, the following caseplay shows that runner is out, and the run does not score.

"3.3.1 SITUATION S: With two outs and the bases loaded, B6 hits a home run out of the park. R3 maliciously runs over (a) F4 before touching second base or (b) F5 before touching third. RULING: In both (a) and (b), R3 is declared out and ejected. In (a), the third out is a force, so no runs score. In (b), the third out was not a force play, so runners who have touched the plate prior to the infraction would score. Please note that in awarded situations it is not the base that is awarded, but rather the right to advance and legally touch a base with no play being made."

Note that in screwy FED notation R3 means the runner who was on first base.

R3 (usually termed R1) is awarded home by the home run, but he is not allowed to complete the award, because he is declared out for malicious contact.
Point well taken. Now consider this one: The batter is hit by a pitch and is awarded 1st base. However, instead of going to 1st, he charges the mound and maliciously contacts F1. He is ejected, but is he declared out as well, thereby nullifying the award, or is a substitute runner placed on 1st base?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Point well taken. Now consider this one: The batter is hit by a pitch and is awarded 1st base. However, instead of going to 1st, he charges the mound and maliciously contacts F1. He is ejected, but is he declared out as well, thereby nullifying the award, or is a substitute runner placed on 1st base?
What? More misinformation you are contributing to the forum.

The runner would be ejected for fighting, but thats not really "malicious contact." Plus the ball is dead on the award - the runner is not out. A substitute would simply come in for the ejected batter/runner.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrm21711 View Post
What? More misinformation you are contributing to the forum.

The runner would be ejected for fighting, but thats not really "malicious contact." Plus the ball is dead on the award - the runner is not out. A substitute would simply come in for the ejected batter/runner.
I don't think so. The ball is dead on the home run in 3.3.1. S as well. If it's MC on offense, the player is out (unless he has scored) and ejected. See 3-3-1-n Penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2008, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
This is a grey area. FED rules don't define malicious contact, and surprisingly there is no explicit rule against fighting! (There is however a rule against a player leaving the bench or on-deck circle to go to a fight, even if they don't participate.)

So generally we consider fighting to be in the classification of unsportsmanlike conduct, and the penalty is ejection only.

When a batter charges the mound, that is in itself likely USC, since the rules explcitly mention charging an umpire as USC. It seems to me that if the pitcher responds by running toward the batter, that's also USC. And if they start whacking each other, that's fighting.

But if the batter charges the pitcher, generating only a defensive response, and hits the pitcher, that's malicious contact. It's not a fight unless there is an offensive response.

USC-- ejection only. MC--out and ejected. The choice depends on the umpire's judgement of the activities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... jcwells Baseball 7 Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm
Catcher's Obstruction with Malicious Contact - Did we get it right? scarolinablue Baseball 57 Sun Mar 16, 2008 06:05pm
Train Wreck, Malicious Contact, or Obstruction. Rattlehead Softball 22 Mon Jun 11, 2007 04:05pm
Almost Malicious contact ? Chess Ref Softball 26 Mon Mar 12, 2007 02:09pm
Obstruction / Malicious Contact mcrowder Softball 32 Fri May 21, 2004 02:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1