The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu May 02, 2002, 10:31am
Official Forum Member

In the top of the 1st yesterday in a Junior Varsity game, the second hitter came to the plate with a necklace on. The homeplate umpire proceeds to eject him from the game without warning. I was upset as the home team coach because I thought the umpire should have used some judgement here. I was prepared to tell him that when after the inning he asks me if I minded if the player reentered later in the game. I was glad that he had changed his mind.
My question is: What is the exact rule for jewlery? Is it an automatic ejection? Earlier in the year I saw a varsity game worked by association members who do thing by the book and they gave a team warning in a similar situation. Somebody help me here. I am a coach who doesn't know all of the rules. I hate to say that as a basketball official but it is true.
Old Thu May 02, 2002, 10:39am
Michael Taylor

The rule is warn and eject. The warning is a team warning so anybody else can be ejected. I find it easier to just telll the guys before the game to take anything off. It saves a lot of headaches.
Old Thu May 02, 2002, 10:48am
Official Forum Member

JV uses FED rules and the reference is FED 3-3-1c

FED 3-3-1 --- A coach, player, substitute attendant or othere bench personel shall not:

Item c - wear jewelry (players participating in the game)

PENALTY: At the end of playing action, the umpire shall issue a warning to the coach of the team involved and the next offender on that team shall be ejected, except for (e), where the coach shall be ejected. In (a), it is also obstruction(8-3-2).

Actually coach, the jewelry policing is your job! If your umpire/s is/are having a proper plate meeting with you and your opposition, one of the responsibilities that gets transferred to you is jewelry (the other is proper equipment - such as cups for male players).