The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 30, 2002, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
The running lane is a location to assure the runner does not interfere with a fielder receiving a throw at 1B. However, on a ball fielded on the 1B line it is the responsibility of the BR to avoid running into the fielder fielding the ball. Therefore, before any play initiated on the BR, the BR may have already widened his basepath further into foul territory more than merely the width of the lane. That is legal, and sometimes required to assure avoiding collision.

HIS basepath to 1B at the time of the play---which is the tag attempt (not the fielding of the ball)--- may have already been developed from foul territory to 1B. When the play (the tag attempt) is attempted, he is then allowed to legally alter his basepath 3 ft. (an arm's reach) to be considered as not leaving his basepath. Altering beyond that is considered leaving his basepath to avoid a tag.

So it's quite possible to conceive this runner could have been 5-6 ft. foul without having left his basepath to avoid a tag. Much depends upon the runner's establishing of his basepath prior to the actual tag attempt.

If any runner is declared out for leaving his basepath to avoid a tag, the ball remains alive and in play.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1