The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Does the run count? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/47847-does-run-count.html)

greymule Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:22pm

However, this play has always confused me. Contrast with this play: Bases loaded, 2 outs, Home run, the BR passes R1 before R3 touches home - this is a time play and no runs score (even though everyone was awarded home).

Can someone tell me the difference here please?


The difference is declared out versus put out.

the homerun is not an automatic award.

It is a four-base award.

SanDiegoSteve Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:29am

Since it is right there in the rule book, why don't I just post the ruling and make it easy on everybody:

Rule 7.04(b) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance, is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score.

Play. Two out, bases full, batter walks but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base toward home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher. Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base.

justanotherblue Fri Aug 29, 2008 01:33am

I Dunno guys
 
I'll be nice....I'll be nice....I'll be nice.....:rolleyes:

It's not working...so...ah hell never mind

greymule Fri Aug 29, 2008 07:27am

Since it is right there in the rule book, why don't I just post the ruling and make it easy on everybody:

Thank you, Steve. Good idea.

Keep in mind that if R3 (before scoring) interfered with F2's throw to third, R3 would be out and his run would not score. Or if an overzealous R1 passed R2 before R3 scored, the run would also not count.

bob jenkins Fri Aug 29, 2008 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72
First off, I agree the run counts.


However, this play has always confused me. Contrast with this play: Bases loaded, 2 outs, Home run, the BR passes R1 before R3 touches home - this is a time play and no runs score (even though everyone was awarded home).

Can someone tell me the difference here please?

The runs (other than BR who made the third out), do count in FED.

canadaump6 Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:46pm

Similar play that actually happened. Bottom of the 9th, 2 out bases loaded. Batter takes ball four, then takes a few steps towards the dugout thinking the game is over. Home plate umpire tells him "touch first base" so the batter goes and touches first, and the game ends. Could this game have been protested?

griff901c Fri Aug 29, 2008 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canadaump6
Similar play that actually happened. Bottom of the 9th, 2 out bases loaded. Batter takes ball four, then takes a few steps towards the dugout thinking the game is over. Home plate umpire tells him "touch first base" so the batter goes and touches first, and the game ends. Could this game have been protested?

HUH? Why make this game any harder than it is? He is entitled to the base he is awarded. If you have to grab him by the ear..he is still gets the award.

griff

johnnyg08 Fri Aug 29, 2008 01:23pm

You can protest anything you want...you won't win everytime that's for sure...they may even say "hey, you can't protest that..." but you can always ask.

justanotherblue Fri Aug 29, 2008 02:49pm

I think they call that preventative umpiring.

griff901c Fri Aug 29, 2008 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
You can protest anything you want...you won't win everytime that's for sure...they may even say "hey, you can't protest that..." but you can always ask.

No you can't protest anything you want. Judgement calls come to mind. Fair/foul...ball/strike... etc.

A misapplication of a rule...yes.

griff

johnnyg08 Fri Aug 29, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griff901c
No you can't protest anything you want. Judgement calls come to mind. Fair/foul...ball/strike... etc.

A misapplication of a rule...yes.

griff

correct...but they can "protest" and as I said above...I would simply say, "you can't protest that"

griff901c Fri Aug 29, 2008 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
correct...but they can "protest" and as I said above...I would simply say, "you can't protest that"

Tomato.. Tamoto.. I get it..my bad:o

griff

RPatrino Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:41pm

I think the confusion may center around what we consider a 'protest'. To me, that is a formal process where a team asks to have a missapplication of a rule reversed. Some may think that a coach who comes out to discuss a call is 'protesting' , but not in the formal sense.

Now, the thought that someone could protest 'anything they want' really depends on the body that is accepting and ruling on the 'protest'. When I worked in LL, a game I worked was 'protested' because the house rules stated that no inning shall start after 7pm. The visiting team manager protested that I started the bottom of the 6th inning after 7 PM. The protest was upheld, because "I did not accurately determine what the correct time was" (per BOD, I should have checked with both managers to determine the 'correct' time). So the bottom of the 6th was wiped off the books, and the game stood as a tie.

This was one of my last LL games I worked for this particular league.

bob jenkins Sun Aug 31, 2008 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
When I worked in LL, a game I worked was 'protested' because the house rules stated that no inning shall start after 7pm. The visiting team manager protested that I started the bottom of the 6th inning after 7 PM. The protest was upheld,

Huh? An Inning includes both the top and the botom of the inning. So, unles you started the TOP of the inning after 7:00, the protest should have been disallowed. (Unless, of course, the local rule was "no half-inning shall start...")

SanDiegoSteve Sun Aug 31, 2008 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Huh? An Inning includes both the top and the botom of the inning. So, unles you started the TOP of the inning after 7:00, the protest should have been disallowed. (Unless, of course, the local rule was "no half-inning shall start...")

Perhaps that is why that was one of his last games with that league. I wouldn't put up with such shenanagins either.

Whenever I worked a "no new inning after..." league, I checked my own timepiece in my pocket or that of the official scorekeeper, and if it was close to stopping time I would announce the time so there was no questioning the legality of continuation.

I would never consider consulting with any coaches or managers to determine the correct time. That would be like asking each manager whether the runner was safe or out :rolleyes: .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1