The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 29, 2002, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
In situation (b), the pitcher legally disengaged the rubber, so no balk.

In situation (a), the pitcher is deemed to have stepped either toward 2B or 3B under the 45-degree rule of thumb. OBR and NFHS permits the pitcher to throw, and presumably step toward, and unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play on a runner. Relatedly, the PBUC Manual says it is not a balk for a pitcher to step toward 2B and, discovering the fielder has not covered the throw, throw to a fielder not at the base. To me, therefore, this is no balk.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1