The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 29, 2002, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 20
R2, pitcher in set position, R2 breaks for third.

a) Pitcher steps with his free foot toward the runner to begin to chase him.

or

b) Pitcher steps with his pivot foot toward the runner to begin to chase him.

Are these balks? If this is a "judgment" call, what is being judged?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 29, 2002, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
If I'm reading this right, and in both cases the pitcher had to step to the back side of the rubber to pursue R2, then it is not a balk in both cases.

__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 29, 2002, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
In situation (b), the pitcher legally disengaged the rubber, so no balk.

In situation (a), the pitcher is deemed to have stepped either toward 2B or 3B under the 45-degree rule of thumb. OBR and NFHS permits the pitcher to throw, and presumably step toward, and unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play on a runner. Relatedly, the PBUC Manual says it is not a balk for a pitcher to step toward 2B and, discovering the fielder has not covered the throw, throw to a fielder not at the base. To me, therefore, this is no balk.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 30, 2002, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Alan G
R2, pitcher in set position, R2 breaks for third.

a) Pitcher steps with his free foot toward the runner to begin to chase him.

or

b) Pitcher steps with his pivot foot toward the runner to begin to chase him.

Are these balks? If this is a "judgment" call, what is being judged?

In (a), once the free foot breaks the back plane of the rubber, the pitcher must step either to 2B or deliver the pitch to home. He cannot throw, feint, or step to 3B. If judged that his free foot broke the back plane of the rubber and landed more toward 3rd than toward 2nd, it would be a balk. However, it would take a rather refined eye in a 2 man crew to pick that up before the chase.

In (b), assuming his pivot foot went back off the rubber and not off either end of the rubber, there would be no balk.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1