![]() |
|
|||
Can the pitcher throw to first if his foot is on the rubber and he makes a move only to first after getting into the set position?
Or does he have to take his foot off the rubber before he can throw to first? I've read a lot of stuff about balks but have not seen this specific circumstance addressed. Thanks! |
|
|||
Yes, yes he can...
There is no need to disengage the rubber in order to throw to first. The pitcher would only be balking if his movement was towards home and he threw to first. You'll often hear umpires talking about "distance and direction"; the pitcher must gain some of each of these towards first in order to throw there without balking.
__________________
Rich Coyle |
|
|||
Criteria for a balk...
What would you say are some basic things to look for when keeping an eye open for a balk, what might be some easy ways to recognize a balk?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
If my blind grandmother sees it...
I'm an umpire at the HS+ level for some time; currently our Association VP, a trainer, and an evaluator. Having stated my credentials, let me say that I don't "look for" balks -- I know them when I see them and they'd better be visible to more than just me.
Some things to look for: 1. Was there a complete and discernible stop? 2. Was there a stop and restart (a "hitch") in the movement? 3. If the pitcher did not disengage from the set, did he gain d&d (distance and direction) towards the base he threw to? 4. If the pitcher did disengage, was it before the start of a pitch-like motion? 5. If the pitcher was in the wind-up, did he disengage with the appropriate foot? 6. Did the pitcher's foot break the plane of the planted leg? Also keep in mind that one cannot balk with the head. Finally, it is virtually impossible to balk to second base. (I'm sure that somebody will respond with a scenario that works --- stop looking for boogers and think about the game that you see on a daily basis --- it doesn't happen in the world I live in) Well, that's a complex rule in a nutshell. Let me say again, from a "big dog" in our area, make sure that the balk is a clear one to more than just you -- you are not calling MLB.
__________________
Rich Coyle |
|
|||
Re: If my blind grandmother sees it...
Quote:
Just breaking the plane of the planted leg has nothing to do with it. |
|
|||
it is virtually impossible to balk to second base
In response to Rich Coyle's comment, I don't think this is a "booger" as I see it probably once or twice a season.
Runner on second base, pitcher comes set. Pitcher lifts non-pivot leg, then plants in down while twisting his torso to throw to second base. There was not step toward the base prior to the throw. Result: balk!! |
|
|||
Can the pitcher throw to first if his foot is on the rubber and he makes a move only
Left-handed pitcher: yes. Right-handed pitcher: no.
I think we had this discussion last week. In my opinion, there is absolutely no way that a right-handed pitcher can make the described move without motioning to the plate. The pitching hand will swing forward toward the plate, and the non-pivot foot will do the same.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
The majority of the time, a RHP will come off the front of the rubber when making a move to 1B, either with the "jab step" or the "jump turn". Both moves are considered to be made while on the rubber. A RHP can keep his foot completely on the rubber while throwing to 1B, but the move takes too long and there's too much of a possibility of being balked for moving towards home.
Basically, look at the pitcher's pivot foot during his move. If it goes directly back behind the rubber, he's off; otherwise, consider him to be on the rubber. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|