Thread: Balk Basics
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 07, 2002, 08:55pm
Rich Coyle Rich Coyle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 29
Yes, yes he can...

There is no need to disengage the rubber in order to throw to first. The pitcher would only be balking if his movement was towards home and he threw to first. You'll often hear umpires talking about "distance and direction"; the pitcher must gain some of each of these towards first in order to throw there without balking.
__________________
Rich Coyle
Reply With Quote