The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 543
When the catcher did not have the ball, the runner wasn't close to reaching home and thus was not blocked. This is OBR however so the ruling is probably different.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Canada, your first post stated the catcher was in the same position from the time the right fielder caught the ball until he tagged the runner. In post #5 you state, 'when the catcher did not have the ball, the runner wasn't close to reaching home and thus was not blocked". If the catcher never moved, how was the runner blocked as he reached home? I'm trying to visualize this.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Right now, only NCAA & FED say that the fielder has to possess the ball. OBR still uses "in the process of receiving". For the catcher, that would be if the ball were say near the cutout of home plate. So if F2 is "in the process of receiving" and is standing on the plate (OBR), there is no obstruction. Besides, if F2 is standing on the plate, unless he wears a size 20 EEEEEEE, it is impossible to completely block the plate.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Use the *KISS* principle when applying 7.06 in OBR. If a fielder sets up in the runners base path prior to the throw being released, and the runner is hindered, you have obstruction. But if the fielder moves to a spot in the runners base path in order to field a thrown ball in flight, you have nothing to call............


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 09:51pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I don't think I have ever seen a ML game (OBR) where obstruction was called on a play at the plate.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
For the catcher, that would be if the ball were say near the cutout of home plate.
Actually, we were taught (PBUC camp and umpire school) that for the catcher, it would mean if the ball was at the pitcher's mound or closer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaump6
When the catcher did not have the ball, the runner wasn't close to reaching home and thus was not blocked. This is OBR however so the ruling is probably different.

Doesn't that answer your own question? You can't have obstruction if somebody wasn't obstructed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex
Doesn't that answer your own question? You can't have obstruction if somebody wasn't obstructed.
What I'm saying is the plate was blocked once the ball reached the catcher and the blockage was a result of him standing there when he wasn't in the act of fielding the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
So, the whole, entire plate was blocked (obstruction) prior to the catcher receiving the ball?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
So, the whole, entire plate was blocked (obstruction) prior to the catcher receiving the ball?
It is not obstruction if the runner is not there! Before the runner gets there he can stand wherever he wants and block whatever he wants.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 09:20pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I can't see obstruction by a catcher standing on top of the plate. Some of the plate is available to the runner. If he comes in sliding he will take the feet out from under the catcher as he crosses the plate.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaump6
What I'm saying is the plate was blocked once the ball reached the catcher and the blockage was a result of him standing there when he wasn't in the act of fielding the ball.
I really think you are overthinking this. Did the catcher obstruct the runner (block the plate) without the ball there?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA obstruction clarification needed Dukat Softball 21 Fri May 25, 2007 01:10pm
Obstruction Clarification njdevs00cup Baseball 9 Fri May 18, 2007 08:20pm
Obstruction Rule Clarification/explanation, PLEASE!! 4Beemer Softball 12 Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:53pm
Need rule clarification-What is the call? Sleeper Football 5 Tue Jun 11, 2002 07:54am
Obstruction clarification SamNVa Softball 5 Thu Aug 30, 2001 09:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1