The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
I've changed my mind on this. I don't think it's an appeal.

I just think the FED takes the force-out wording seriously and strictly -- if the base is touched before the runner touches the base, the runner is out (and, yes, I'm paraphrasing, so don't pick apart the sentence).

In the specific instance you mentioned, though, it's no longer a force play. Notice that the "play" (Fed definition -- TOP to dead ball or ball back to F1) is over. That's how I'm justifying not calling the out on this play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1