The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 24, 2008, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Batter remains in the box. Obstruction or not?

I am hoping to get some clarification on a ruling that we have have incurred (yes I am a coach so take it easy on me ) in each of our first 2 ball games this season. The response we have received in each situation has been different which leads to further confusion. We have young, inexperienced umpires so we try to take that into consideration. However it would be great if they could to instructed correctly so that they can be consistent from one umpire to the next. So here is the situation. (Little League rules)

There is a runner on 3rd and a pitch results in a passed ball. The R3 comes to the plate and F2 is tracking down the ball at the backstop while F1 covers the plate. This is all status quo at this point. The batter (B1) never leaves the box nor makes an attempt to do so. In both instances the ball had bounced somewhat toward the 3rd base dugout and the batter is right handed which puts him in direct line of the play. The first time it happens F2 picks up the ball and starts to throw to F1 and stops because B1 is directly in between. The umpire was questioned as to whether it was obstruction and he determined that it was and he sent all runners back to original base (there was an R2 moved up to R3). Later after the game we were told that his ruling was not completely correct and that an attempt needed to be made on the play. So we instructed the F2 to throw the ball regardless of the B1 being present. So the next game when he gets the same situation he does as instructed and throws it only this time it gets by F1 by going up the 3rd base line a few feet. It appeared that F2 tried to throw wide of B1 but that is merely speculation. So this time nothing is called and again the umpire is questioned as to why it is not obstruction. This time we are told that the B1 is entitled to the box and can remain there so long as the ball does not hit him. My thought on this is that he has obstructed regardless of whether the ball hits him. I have looked back through several threads on here but have not found any discussions on this same situation. If there is already one here a simple point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance. I think this site is a great resource for educating both umpires and coaches.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the batter to do? harmbu Baseball 11 Mon Sep 24, 2007 09:08am
Batter out of the box... mj Baseball 27 Thu Apr 19, 2007 08:48am
Batter Obstruction kwhinc Baseball 5 Tue Jun 01, 2004 01:15pm
What about batter? buddyb03 Baseball 3 Tue May 29, 2001 04:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1