![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
After playing action is over the question is 1. Did all runners including the BR advance at least one base. If the answer is yes then the CO is ignored If the answer is NO Then you enforce the CO penalty. It's that simple and spelled out in the rules. In effect infractions (except MC) that occured after the OBS do not count so if there was interference IN EFFECT it didn't happen because the CO penalty "trumps" it if you will. IMO, the only "wrinkle" in the OP was we had MC. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"Waving off interference" is not in the rule book. Unless you can provide a citation, I can conclude only that you made that up.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
One more time We have bases loaded 1 out (NO MC this time) B1 is obstructed by F2 but manages to hit the ball to F4. While attempting to field the ball F4 is interfered with by R1 and in the judgement of the BU there would have been an easy DP. Notice in FED we do not use the terms Willfully and deliberately with obvious intent. Those are OBR terms. At the moment R1 interferes with F4 we have 1. TIME 2. R1 and the BR are DECLARED out Apparently inning over HOWEVER, we now have to enforce the CO penalty How do we enforce the CO penalty? Since bases were juiced, every-one moves up a base. The interference is "waved off" because in fact it didn't happen. If we go by your ruling you would enforce the interference and the inning would be over and ignore the CO infraction. That's not what happens. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this thread, I've already cited 8.3.2H, which deals with a different scenario containing both obstruction and interference. That case states: Quote:
My position is: I have cited authoritative support for my interpretation, and you have not done the same. I do not take your word for it, and merely declaring that I do not understand fails to provide the requested rules support for your view.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
the "waved off" part is the problem here. it's not "waved off." it happened. however, in happening it caused us to now have to enforce the CI penalty because all runners including the batter runner did not advance one base. the int still happened, it's not "waved off," it's just highly unlikely that the offense would elect to take the result of the play instead of the penalty for the CI.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" |
|
|||
|
I emailed our state rules interpreter and this is the answer I got. Sounds about right since the force was removed.
Would like your input on this particular play. None out and bases loaded. Batter hits a ground ball to F4, but is obstructed with by the catcher. On the play, runner from first maliciously contacts F4. What do we as umpires do? 1. Do we eject the runner from 1B, send runners back to 2B & 3B, and leave batter on 1B? 2. Eject runner from 1B, enforce FPSR, and return runners to 2B & 3B? 3. Move runners up one base, eject runner from 1B, and leave batter on 1B? You would do no. 1. The batter-runner is awarded 1st and R3 the runner on 1st is out and ejected. Because he is out the other runners are not forced to move up due to the BR being awarded 1st.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Says you. Prove it. In this thread, I've already cited 8.3.2H, which deals with a different scenario containing both obstruction and interference. That case states: Quote: Originally Posted by casebook The umpire shall deal with obstruction and then interference, since this is the order in which the infractions occurred. I'm still out there sawing. Now, I don't know FED, so if's there's something in there specific to MC "changing everything", I'm sticking to the rule book, obr that is. I don't know what your quote (above) from the case book is all about, so would need to read the whole case, to be swayed. As far as the State Inter., well, he no doubt has his thoughts on this, just like many others here on this topic. But til I see something more, I'm stuck, on my limb.. I say the CI enforcement is enforced after the play "unless" (we all know that)... All runners "including the BR did not reach there advance bases on the play. The CI penalty is : advance all runners, to correct the catcher interfering with my # 4 hitter, not being allowed to smoke one to the RF gap for a 3 bagger. IMO there is no possible way to award the D with an out. Unless, the O wants too. This is catchers interference man, what's the deterent to not just grab the big guys bat everytime he comes up with the bases juiced? I gotta think it's not the O's fault, This play would not have happened W/O the CI, it's our job to make it so.
__________________
SLAS |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Train Wreck, Malicious Contact, or Obstruction. | Rattlehead | Softball | 22 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 04:05pm |
| Almost Malicious contact ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 26 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 02:09pm |
| Obstruction / Malicious Contact | mcrowder | Softball | 32 | Fri May 21, 2004 02:22pm |
| Malicious Contact | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Wed Jul 04, 2001 11:42am |