![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Obs: Either R1 is out and bases are loaded, or R1 isn't out, a run scores and bases are loaded. I can't see a coach electing the "play". |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, I believe that penalties are enforced in the order of the offenses. The award for OBS can't be made until the end of playing action, but it doesn't follow that it can't be made first. So on the OBS, award BR 1B and the other runners (for the moment) are forced to advance. Then on the INT (without MC), R1 out, other runners return. (Of course, I would place the runners by their "net" award, not send R3 home and then back to 3B.) Either way, no run scores on this play, with or without malicious contact.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All the choices are "logical." I recall that this (or a similar) play has been debated over the years with both sides (enforce in the order they happened; "nest" the penalties) making the same claims as in this thread. I don't recall any AO or interp to help guide us. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Suppose R3 touched the plate before the MC. In FED, we return runners to the base last occupied At TOI unless it is a FPSR violation which is not the case in the OP. Depending upon what "camp" you are in, on CO or CI followed by a play, the PU is supposed to explain to the offensive manger his options. So after playing action ends, at that point in time EXCEPT for the MC the runners are not placed anywhere until the manger is consulted. However, as Bob said why would a coach not want the penalty as presented in this OP. To do otherwise the inning would be over. IMO, the only "Monkey Wrench" in the equation is the MC which in addition to the OBS in FED MUST be penalized. If we did not have MC, the call is simple The interference is "waved off" because all runners including the BR did not advance a base so enforce the CO. Since bases were juiced, R3 scores, R2 to third so on and so forth. Since we had MC TIME was called at the moment the MC took place, so if R3 ALREADY crossed the plate, his run counts. If he didn't cross the plate, then R3 is returned to third base. R2 stays at second R1 is out on the MC and the BR to first. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I defer to you guys on being an expert on this, but I think there's two outs and the bases loaded with no runs scored.
You don't apply the obstruction penalty until after the play, and by that time, R1 is out. Thus R2 and R3 aren't forced to advance. |
|
|||
|
I'm coming around to Pete's view. The only hint the case book gives us is 8.3.2.H, which confirms that both violations are penalized, in their order of occurrence. It also confirms that the penalties are awarded independently, since the INT does not cause the base award to be rescinded, as it would absent the obstruction. The runner who committed the INT is out, but he was not awarded a base on the OBS, so the case is not exactly on point with the OP.
The ball was dead before the BR reached first and/or all other runners advanced at least one base, so the OBS is enforced. I would move everybody up one for the OBS, then call R1 out for the INT, and eject him for the MC. I would not call 2 (as you would absent the OBS) because the BR was awarded 1st, and didn't commit the INT. One run in, R1, R3, two out. |
|
|||
|
CI, advance all runners forced to advance and the BR to 1st.
R1 as well as R2 and R3 are forced to advance, due to B becoming BR. Due to the CI, R1 was "not" able to reach his advance base, he was tagged out by F4. The MC and or INT comes after; 1. CI and 2. the tag out. If Fed say's you gotta have an out on MC then okay. Hokie, but I could live with it.. But I gotta ask: what if 2 outs, no body on, B hit's an HR, but MC's F3 while rounding 1st? Is he now out, with no run scoring, or would a sub be allowed to run the bases for him? I'm wondering if the FED term "CO" is muddying the waters on this? FED clearly say's, "MC trumps OBS"? In the OP had R1 been obstructed, I'd agree 100% on MC trumping him and earning an out. But, OBS was not "really" the call, it was CI/CO, see where I'm going with this? This is not OBS, it is Catchers Interference, only called Catchers Obstruction. Still a different beast. OBS I protect the OBSed runner, not necessarily every runner. Not the case in CI, I'm now obligated to perhaps "protect all"... I say the CI trumps all, as CI caused the ensuing play. The play didn't meet the rules definition of when to; disregard, wave off, or ignore, the CI. Since I now have to enforce the CI; I must disregard the "play" and start from the beginning. Award all runners including the BR their next base. Without further case examples to sway me: in an OBR game: I would advance all runnners (except the ejected one) who although ejected, is still deserving of 2nd. I would allow the sub, bases juiced, a run scored.
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
After playing action is over the question is 1. Did all runners including the BR advance at least one base. If the answer is yes then the CO is ignored If the answer is NO Then you enforce the CO penalty. It's that simple and spelled out in the rules. In effect infractions (except MC) that occured after the OBS do not count so if there was interference IN EFFECT it didn't happen because the CO penalty "trumps" it if you will. IMO, the only "wrinkle" in the OP was we had MC. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"Waving off interference" is not in the rule book. Unless you can provide a citation, I can conclude only that you made that up.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
One more time We have bases loaded 1 out (NO MC this time) B1 is obstructed by F2 but manages to hit the ball to F4. While attempting to field the ball F4 is interfered with by R1 and in the judgement of the BU there would have been an easy DP. Notice in FED we do not use the terms Willfully and deliberately with obvious intent. Those are OBR terms. At the moment R1 interferes with F4 we have 1. TIME 2. R1 and the BR are DECLARED out Apparently inning over HOWEVER, we now have to enforce the CO penalty How do we enforce the CO penalty? Since bases were juiced, every-one moves up a base. The interference is "waved off" because in fact it didn't happen. If we go by your ruling you would enforce the interference and the inning would be over and ignore the CO infraction. That's not what happens. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Train Wreck, Malicious Contact, or Obstruction. | Rattlehead | Softball | 22 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 04:05pm |
| Almost Malicious contact ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 26 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 02:09pm |
| Obstruction / Malicious Contact | mcrowder | Softball | 32 | Fri May 21, 2004 02:22pm |
| Malicious Contact | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Wed Jul 04, 2001 11:42am |