The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2002, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 71
I'm a bit confused by the new appeal rule. I have questions following my comments.

Rule 8.2 PENALTY NOTE: "When a play by it's very nature is imminent and is obvious to the offense, defense, and umpires, no verbal appeal is necessary, e.g., runner attempting to retouch a base that was missed, or a failure to tag up and a throw has been made to that base or plate while a play is in progress."

In other words, a player who misses a base is out if the fielder makes a live ball appeal, the same as not tagging up: all the fielder needs to do is tag the base while the play is in progress.

Now Case Book 8.2.2 Situation N says that if a player misses home plate and makes no attempt to retouch, he is out if the catcher steps on the plate in an obvious appeal attempt. But if he is returning before the catcher steps on the plate, he is not out.

Rule 8-2-5 indicates, the runner must return immediately if he misses a base. Rule 8-4-2i indicates that the live ball appeal by a fielder is a timing play in situations 8-2-1,2,3, and 4. (So 8-2-5 is not a timing play).

My questions: (update: in each case, the runner is stealing and there is no force. And in each case playing action is ongoing, the runner has not stopped)

1. R1 misses second base, he is halfway toward third, F6 steps on second, obviously indicating R1 missed second. Is he out?

2. R1 misses second and rounds third and base coach tells him to return to second. Is the appeal a timing play?

3. Same as 2, but runner retouches third and is running toward second, if 2 is a timing play, is it still a timing play?

4. Suppose 1st and 3rd, runner from 1st steals and slides past 2nd missing the bag. He proceeds toward third hoping to get in a rundown to give runner from third a chance to score. F6 tags 2nd in an obvious appeal attempt and throws home. Ruling?

Thanks,

Joe Moore

[Edited by joemoore on Feb 24th, 2002 at 08:37 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1