![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
Illini Ref,
With the runner scrambling back to the base, the fielder is required to tag him in order to obtain the out. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
disagree. that's only true for a play at the plate. 7.10(b) a runner is out on appeal when: with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Fri Feb 15, 2008 at 06:29pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is unrelaxed action. As such, the runner must be tagged. |
|
|||
![]()
bobby,
My "source" for the assertion that the runner must be tagged in this situation is the J/R discussion of missed base appeals of first when action is "unrelaxed", using J/R terminology. From example play 2: Quote:
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that." Last edited by Forest Ump; Fri Feb 15, 2008 at 06:55pm. |
|
|||
![]()
Forest,
I don't believe so. In regard to Home, the MLBUM is quite explicit that if the runner is attempting to return to home (rather than heading to the dugout) he must be tagged for a properly constituted appeal: Quote:
Since I can't find anything that contradicts this interpretation, and the logic strikes me as similar to that in the MLBUM regarding a runner missing home, I'm inclined to accept the interpretation as valid. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Fed. and NCAA clearly states you can tag the base for the appeal.
Fed. pg.49 art.5 &penalty ncaa pg. 97 rule 6 a 3 and im sure pro would not make you tag a runner on a force play!!! you would simply smile at the umpire step on the base with the baseball in hand and state he missed the base mr umpire sir. and your response would be, why yes young man you are correct and the idiot is out!!! this is an appeal on a missed force play |
|
|||
Quote:
What we have here may be an example of how the J/R is use in internet debates far more than it is in the real world of professional baseball. In fact, while TC can better attest to the higher MiLB levels, umpires at the Single A level are discouraged from...no that's not strong enough...actually told not to consult rule books or interpretive manuals other than the OBR and PBUC's.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Sun Feb 24, 2008 at 02:32pm. |
|
|||
FED and OBR seem to be quite different. FED explicitly addresses this question, and they want the out called. If BR misses the base, and F3 subsequently has the ball and steps on the base, BR is out. F3 does not even have to make an unmistakable appeal (need not say, "he missed the base" for example).
For OBR, it's less clear. The rationale for J/R's position makes sense to me. 1. A runner acquires a base when he passes it, whether or not he touches it. 2. BR may overrun 1B. 3. To allow F3 to appeal the missed base by tagging the base seems to defeat the purpose of (2). 4. On the other hand, some appeal must be allowed - the BR who misses 1B has committed a base-running error. 5. Tagging the BR if he's trying to return seems to be a good compromise. 6. If BR is not trying to return, the fielder need not chase him, just tag the base. Notice that the terms "relaxed action" and "un-relaxed action" are not essential to this reasoning.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
i look at it this way, slow roller too short, runner beats throw by a half-step but misses first, if all that is needed to get an out was touching first, then, as long as F3 maintained contact with the base, and had clean control of the ball, would you not then be forced to call the runner out? BR needs to be tagged.
steve |
|
|||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day." ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day." ![]() |
|
|||
Either may be tagged.
Quote:
Both of these situations are specifically addressed in the Wendelstedt Rules and Mechanics Manual; recently updated for 2008. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|