The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
But doesn't it have to simulate the beginning of the pitching motion? Or is that just in the OBR rule set?
The question said F1 was in the windup with both hands at his sides. From this position, moving one arm does not commit him to pitch. Going to the mouth on the rubber is an illegal pitch (ball), but he has not balked.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 02:23pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
that's what I'm saying...is the FED rule different? By the looks of it...yes.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
The ball is immediately dead in FED only.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 04:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Thumbs up Fed Exam Answers for part 1

This has gotten silly since it looks like the Fed is splitting hairs again with words. This is just another reason why most of my buds and me don't do HS ball anymore. I got a copy of the test but no rule book for the past 2 seasons. Does anyone have the Part 1 Exam answers so I can go over them. If it is easier, just list the tru ones. Thanks in advance.
__________________
"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake."
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
The question said F1 was in the windup with both hands at his sides. From this position, moving one arm does not commit him to pitch. Going to the mouth on the rubber is an illegal pitch (ball), but he has not balked.
Moving one hand to in front of the body and stoppng does not commit him to pitch. Other movements do.

See the case play on "adjusting the hat" (it might be the one Tee references).

And, yes, JohnnyG, FED rules are different.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Dash

The NFHS overheads are FINALLY quite clear on this issue.

With a runner on base and F1 goes to his mouth, not mattering if it is the set or the wind-up position, it is a balk.

The rule clarification for 2008 made the going to the mouth situation simple.

If F1 is not in contact with the pitcher's plate he can go to his mouth as long as he wipes. It F1 is in contact with the picther's plate and there are runners on (does not matter if it is from wind-up or set, and he goes to his mouth it is a balk.

It really is quite clear in the written rule (Case Book)and the overheads.

If you look at both Case plays 6.2.1 A and 6.2.1B the violation is obvious.

Regards,
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
If you look at both Case plays 6.2.1 A and 6.2.1B the violation is obvious.

Regards,
Neither one proves your point. In 6.2.1 A, there are no runners on base, and in 6.2.1 B, F1 is in the set position.

However, from the FED website, 2008 Rules Interpretations, SITUATION 6: While on the pitcher's plate in the windup position, the pitcher has both hands at his side or both hands together in front of his body. He brings his pitching hand to his mouth and then distinctly wipes it off. RULING: This is an illegal pitch. Each runner on base would be awarded one base. If the bases were empty, a ball would be awarded to the batter. (6-1-2 Penalty)

From this, I concede. I change my answer to B, and I'll take those parting gifts.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
The NFHS overheads are FINALLY quite clear on this issue.

With a runner on base and F1 goes to his mouth, not mattering if it is the set or the wind-up position, it is a balk.

The rule clarification for 2008 made the going to the mouth situation simple.

If F1 is not in contact with the pitcher's plate he can go to his mouth as long as he wipes.
TEE will you do some preventative umpiring on ths issue?

In other words you see F1 do this

Are you going to

1. Simply call the infraction
2. Dust off the plate and tell F2 to talk to F1 and NEXT time it is a balk or
3. if you are BU tell any infielder to talk to F1.

I am interested in how "other" associations instruct their umpires on these "ticky/taky? type rules. Similar to the "old days" when in FED F1 could not check a runner. How many associations enforced that rule.

Thanks TEE

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Twp

R1, F1, off the mound, goes to his mouth, without wiping off he grips the ball. He now can _____________.
__________________
GB
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Garth,

Request Time and ask for a new ball.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
Garth,

Request Time and ask for a new ball.

JM
More TWP:

And, if he wipes off after gripping the ball and then takes the rubber?
__________________
GB
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
[QUOTE=PeteBooth]
Quote:

TEE will you do some preventative umpiring on ths issue?

In other words you see F1 do this

Are you going to

1. Simply call the infraction
2. Dust off the plate and tell F2 to talk to F1 and NEXT time it is a balk or
3. if you are BU tell any infielder to talk to F1.

I am interested in how "other" associations instruct their umpires on these "ticky/taky? type rules. Similar to the "old days" when in FED F1 could not check a runner. How many associations enforced that rule.

Thanks TEE

Pete Booth
You know, if the coaches are dumb enough to lobby for this rule, it should be called. Everytime. Maybe then we can get rule 6 rewritten sensibly.

I have a modest proposal for a language change.

"FED Rule 6, see OBR Rule 7.00"
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Dash:

I will say what separates you from many of the eumpire.com posters is that when shown that an answer is different from your view you accept the answer and move on.

I wish that all on this site had the same ability.

Regards,
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Tim

Thanks Tim. I'd much rather get something wrong on this forum than on the field. That's why I'm here.
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Gee, fellas...I told ya this was a balk 24 posts and two pages back!

And I'm right at least as often as a blind squirrel or a stopped clock...
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test questions, part 3 ChuckElias Basketball 16 Wed Sep 07, 2005 01:48am
Test questions, part 1 ChuckElias Basketball 12 Fri Sep 02, 2005 05:37am
Test Questions-NF devdog69 Volleyball 19 Wed Aug 24, 2005 01:07pm
Test questions SouthGARef Football 10 Fri Sep 17, 2004 09:50am
Questions from the test devdog69 Volleyball 14 Mon Oct 14, 2002 11:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1