The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Feb 18, 2002, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member

Hey guys,
Just a little background on me, I've been coaching Little League for the past 4 years, and started umpiring 2 years ago. I've come along pretty well I feel in the umpire department, attended 3 area LL clinics, put in a few tournament games, got a good feel for the rules, just lack the years of experience to apply them, hehe.

Anyway, I had planned on coaching again this year as both my boys will be on the same major team(10yr and 12 yr old), but our league is lacking an Umpire in Chief. No one is stepping up. Last years UIC was just a warm body. I feel I could offer more to the Little League program here in good ol' Sequim, WA by taking the UIC position, and helping build the umpire program here. We have always had to rely on coaches ump'ing each others games, and we all know how well that works.

I feel umpiring is a better fit for me than coaching, but I don't want to bail on my own kids, or the team either.
We also have a lack of quality coaches, well, just plain lack of coaches. So what would you guys do in my situation, stick out coaching one more year, and watch the umpiring go down the toilet?, or take the UIC job, and have my wife flush me down the toilet when my kids get a crappy coach!??

Anyway, I know this is basically a decision I need to figure out for myself. What I'm looking for though is some perspective and any experiences if any one has gone through something similar.

thanks,
Phil
p.s. The board prez is putting the pressure on me for uic!!
Old Mon Feb 18, 2002, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member

btw, how do i get my paragraph indents to stay in?
Old Mon Feb 18, 2002, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to ref5678
good luck