![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is question 57 on the FED online test. It would appear someone tried to be just a bit too cute. False can be supported, but not sensibly.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
I too missed this question. I did not understand why it was false. I still don't. But mine is not to reason why, especially when it come to NFHS.
My thought process was this: IFF in affect. Fly ball dropped intentionally, batter is out, ball remains live. However, a bunt (or attempt) is not an IFF - so as stated before the "in affect" doesn't apply any more. So this is simply an intentionally dropped "fly ball." In which case, the ball is dead and batter is out - runners return. This seems to be the logic pointed out previously in this thread. It's also the logic I see in the rules pointed out in the OP. Did I miss something? Other than the "correct" answer to this question, I mean. |
|
|||
This same question got beat to death on the NFHS discussion boards last week. Not that there's anything wrong with that...if they say the answer is false then it deserves to be beat to death!
Check out Case Play 8.4.1.G. It describes this exact scenario and demonstrates that the ball is indeed DEAD. The only time the ball remains live on an intentional drop with the infield fly rule in effect is when a batted ball is hit that actually meets the definition of an infield fly. A bunt does not, and is treated as any other intentionally dropped ball. Dead ball, batter out, runners return. Also, note that rule 5-1-1 seems to have been misprinted this year, especially if you compare it to how it read for the past few years. The note at the end of the rule, "1. Infield-fly rule (2-19)", is meaningless as a stand-alone statement. The infield-fly rule....what about it? ![]() In previous years that note included the phrase, "...with the exception of...(the infield-fly rule)", or words to that effect (it was worded differently in both 2006 and 2007, then mangled in 2008). This year, they dropped the "exception" part of the rule, which makes no sense. So, anyone that misses this question, then checks a 2008 rule book for clarification should really get confused! Last edited by BretMan; Tue Jan 29, 2008 at 10:26pm. |
|
|||
Lets rephrase the statement thusly "The Ball is Immediately Dead = A
When: With the infield-fly rule in effect= B an infielder intentionally drops a fair bunt in flight."= C Thee only justification for an answer of "false" that I can think of is that B is not the exact conditions that must exist for A = C. It is true that A = C when B exists, but A = C when B is not completely fulfilled, as well. Thus, since B is not really the requirement for A = C, some pinhead who writes the questions that the rules committee suggests decided that only "false" would be the accurate answer. I don't believe the question is intentionally a trick a question, I think it is a stupid question.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
I think they just have the wrong answer on their answer key.
The noted Case Play is identical to this play (infield fly in effect, ball is bunted and intentionally dropped). The ruling given is dead ball. That also matches the OBR interpretation. I like to break stuff down and get into A=B=C logic, but sometimes the solution to a problem is the simplest explanation. The simplest explanation is that the answer key is wrong. Last edited by BretMan; Wed Jan 30, 2008 at 12:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS test question # 99 | roadking | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:14pm |
starting clock question on missed free throw? | roadking | Basketball | 8 | Fri Nov 17, 2006 03:02pm |
help with a few nfhs test question | roadking | Basketball | 6 | Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:00pm |
NFHS Rules Test Question 82 | Jerry Baldwin | Basketball | 5 | Sat Oct 26, 2002 02:28am |
Is This a For Real Question on NFHS Test | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 05:16pm |