![]() |
|
|||
quote: Art: I raised that same issue back in the 70s, and Nick Bremigan said that a double play must be obvious. There are two possibilities, he said: (1) There is a force situation, the batter hits a ground ball. (R1 or R1, R2, or bases loaded, or R1, R3.) You will not have a double play with this configuration: R2, or R3, or R2 and R3. (2) There is a pop-up with a runner off his base, as in the play Pete describes. That's the "classic" example of calling out the runner nearer home with the B-R interferes before touching first. In your play there could be a double play, and I would call it. R2 is far enough from the base to interfere with the shortstop's fielding of the pop-up. If he had continued, F6 will catch the fly (B1 is out) and throw to F4, who tags second (R2 is out). Stick with the configurations for a ground ball force or judge whether a runner is far enough from a base to make a double-play possible on a caught fly ball appeal. ------------------ Papa C Editor, eUmpire |
| Bookmarks |
|
|