![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Forest,
Where on earth do you get the idea that a runner cannot be awarded an advance base on a Type B Obstruction call? Quote:
The rule (and Official Interpretation) say that the umpire is to make a ruling that "...nullifies the act of obstruction...". Now in the video, were we to pretend that the 1B Coach did NOT shove the runner towards 2B after he returned, it is clear that he would have EASILY reached 2B had the F3 not obstructed him. Since the BR was "hell bent" for 2B at the time of the Obstruction, it seems plain to me that the proper ruling on this play (again, absent the 1B coach's interference) would be to award the BR 2B after action relaxed. Because that is the ruling that would nullify the obstruction. Leaving him at 1B would allow the obstruction to prevent his advance. A materially different situation from the Tejada play you reference because it was by no means clear in that situation that Tejada would have reached home absent the obstruction. edited to add... To me it's essentially the same principle applied in this case play from the MLBUM: Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Wed Sep 12, 2007 at 12:00am. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach's Interference? | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 13 | Tue Aug 08, 2006 01:41am |
coach's interference | NavyCoach | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm |
Interference v. Obstruction | Dougie | Softball | 14 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:54pm |
Obstruction and Interference | spots101 | Baseball | 6 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:32pm |
Interference, Obstruction or nothing. | Gre144 | Baseball | 10 | Thu May 17, 2001 07:27pm |