![]() |
Help with a situation
I'm looking for a little information on a call that I saw the other day.
Runner of 1st and 3rd, 2 outs. A high line shot was hit to the second baseman which he proceeded to drop. The shortstop comes over to cover second. The second baseman picks up the dropped ball and gets the force out at second. Inning over, right? The runner on 3rd crossed home before the 3rd out was made at second. Does the run count? I would appreciate any input. |
Force out! Inning over! No run!
|
Quote:
No, the run does not count. The third out of the inning was the runner on first base being forced to second base. MTD, Sr. |
So the drop ball by the second baseman doesn't change the play? Thanks for your input.
|
Quote:
: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Tim. |
A force is a force, of course, of course......
And nobody scores on a force, of course............. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That's great ! ! ! ! ! !! :D :D :D |
Quote:
That is, of course, unless the "force" Was really an appeal play. :D |
Quote:
Bob |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Tim. |
Quote:
|
but what if the appeal play results in a force? then it's an appeal play that IS a force, of course, no?
|
Quote:
That's why (I'm guessing) Garth put "force" in quotes in his adition to the song. Too many players, coaches and even umpires see the appeal as always being a force since only the base is tagged. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm. |