![]() |
Help with a situation
I'm looking for a little information on a call that I saw the other day.
Runner of 1st and 3rd, 2 outs. A high line shot was hit to the second baseman which he proceeded to drop. The shortstop comes over to cover second. The second baseman picks up the dropped ball and gets the force out at second. Inning over, right? The runner on 3rd crossed home before the 3rd out was made at second. Does the run count? I would appreciate any input. |
Force out! Inning over! No run!
|
Quote:
No, the run does not count. The third out of the inning was the runner on first base being forced to second base. MTD, Sr. |
So the drop ball by the second baseman doesn't change the play? Thanks for your input.
|
Quote:
: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Tim. |
A force is a force, of course, of course......
And nobody scores on a force, of course............. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That's great ! ! ! ! ! !! :D :D :D |
Quote:
That is, of course, unless the "force" Was really an appeal play. :D |
Quote:
Bob |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Tim. |
Quote:
|
but what if the appeal play results in a force? then it's an appeal play that IS a force, of course, no?
|
Quote:
That's why (I'm guessing) Garth put "force" in quotes in his adition to the song. Too many players, coaches and even umpires see the appeal as always being a force since only the base is tagged. |
Quote:
Don: Do you live anywhere near Linwood, Bonner Springs, DeSoto, or anywhere close by? MTD, Sr. |
Once, when I was a coach (yikes!)
I actually helped save my team a run (well, kinda) during my glorious two-year coaching career back in the Jurassic period. I was a highly paid ***'t. Pretty big state game. Girls' sauceball, but OBR apply.
We are on defense. 2 outs, R2. BR smacks a gapper. I groan. R2 scores handily, then F6 tags out BR trying to reach 2B. I thought I saw something hinky at the first-base sack. I scream to my F3, 'ERIKA--DON'T LEAVE THE FIELD--GET THE BALL AND STEP ON FIRST AND YELL 'APPEAL #14!'" She does so, with a queer look at me. U1, to my relief, bangs out the BR. Opposing skip is still irate about U3's call at 2B and doesn't even notice the appeal. But R2's run stays on the scoreboard. I was, of course, having none of this. In my dulcetest tone possible, I protest the game. PU [after chewing out other skip] blows up at me and starts reading me the riot act. I stand there and take it, suppressing a smile, pie-hole firmly shut, knowing I was right. Finally, PU says, "OK, whaddaya got?" I reply, all nice-like, "We choose the third out to be the one made by BR at 1B. Since she didn't reach 1B safely with 2 away, no run can score on that play." After much foofaraw, they removed the run from the board. Room-temp IQ convention in scorer's booth. Then I let my opponents mgr. take a run at PU; I go back to the dugout and get the major pat on the back from my skipper. Alas, we lost the game. However, a good, real-life occurrence of both a force on an appeal AND an apparent fourth out. Ace PS: PU came up to me after the game and apologized. |
Omigawsh, they bleeped out my abbreviation of "assistant!"
|
Use the dollar sign for one of the S's.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55pm. |