The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 325
Steven - MUCH to not understand. Once a pitcher is entered in the lineup card he must face one batter. 3-1-1.
SO, Zack is in the game as starting pitcher. He did not substitute for anyone so he cannot be an illegal substitute! He batted out of order but he's in the game from the moment his name was on the lineup handed to PU and he's not a substitute.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 12:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeErieUmp
Steven - MUCH to not understand. Once a pitcher is entered in the lineup card he must face one batter. 3-1-1.
SO, Zack is in the game as starting pitcher. He did not substitute for anyone so he cannot be an illegal substitute! He batted out of order but he's in the game from the moment his name was on the lineup handed to PU and he's not a substitute.
Zack was in the game defensively, being DH'd for by David in the four spot.. He was then substituted for Charles. Illegal substitute. He did not simply bat or bat out of order, or David would no longer be batting. Both were batting. He took Charles' position.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
Zack was in the game defensively, being DH'd for by David in the four spot.. He was then substituted for Charles. Illegal substitute. He did not simply bat or bat out of order, or David would no longer be batting. Both were batting. He took Charles' position.
As Bob pointed out in post #3, Rule 2-36-3d says exactly this. A substitute is illegal when he's the player being DH'ed for and enters the lineup in a different position.

If folks don't like or understand this rule, that's one thing, but the rule clearly applies to this case. Normal illegal sub penalty applies.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I thought they had a new rule about 8 or 90 years ago that said ejected players couldn't reenter. Maybe it's just me...
Yes, sorry. By the time I responded to the follow-up, I forgot Charles had been ejected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits
I had a similar situation last week. NBC rules, DH came in to play catcher, and a new pitcher came in to bat for himself in the previous catcher's batting position.

OBR 6.10(b) states:
...The designated hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order.
That would be correct under OBR (and NCAA).
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
what if zack had hit a single and was on 1st. then a pitch was thrown to the next batter, david, and THEN the opposing coach realized the error. is zach still out or his at bat legalized since a pitch has been thrown to the next batter?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by newump
what if zack had hit a single and was on 1st. then a pitch was thrown to the next batter, david, and THEN the opposing coach realized the error. is zach still out or his at bat legalized since a pitch has been thrown to the next batter?
Still out and restricted.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by newump
what if zack had hit a single and was on 1st. then a pitch was thrown to the next batter, david, and THEN the opposing coach realized the error. is zach still out or his at bat legalized since a pitch has been thrown to the next batter?
No. You still are trying to apply BOO enforcement to an Illegal Sub situation.

He would still be out and restricted.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
would zach become legal at any point?? how about after he scores and then the mistake is not realized until the following inning??
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by newump
would zach become legal at any point?? how about after he scores and then the mistake is not realized until the following inning??
ARRRRRRGH.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
David is DHing for Zak, the pitcher. David and Zak are locked into the same spot in the batting order. When Zak enters the game as a batter, he MUST do so in the 4-spot in the batting order, which means David is no longer in the game (but may return, but only in the 4-spot, and for Zak). When Zak, the defensive player who was DHed for, enters the game on offense, there is no longer a DH.

If Zak bats in the 3-spot, he's BOO.

Bob
Except that there IS no player in the 3-spot ... and if both these players are in the game at the same time, it's not a BOO situation, it's an illegal sub situation.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by newump
would zach become legal at any point?? how about after he scores and then the mistake is not realized until the following inning??
No, he would not become legal. The run scores in the situation you describe, though.

Read rule 3-1-1 and all the case plays 3.1.1. Case play L is nearly this exact situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA Today BBall_Junkie Basketball 5 Fri Nov 04, 2005 09:40am
Today brandan89 Basketball 1 Sun Jun 19, 2005 09:38pm
Today brandan89 Basketball 20 Tue Nov 30, 2004 03:39pm
Saw this one today YoungRighty Baseball 3 Sat Aug 07, 2004 07:49pm
Okay one for today. buddha69 Softball 6 Fri Jul 23, 2004 09:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1