The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz
Speaking of obstruction, had this occur last night in a 14U game; no outs, R1 at 1B, batter hits a one-hopper to F4 who flips to F6 for the easy front end of the double play. R1 sees he is clearly out and peels off toward right field. F6 stumbles after crossing the bag, then bobbles the ball as he regains his balance and tries to throw to 1B (he clearly had possession at 2nd base, so the out stands). But his momentum has now carried him well toward right field several steps such that R1 is now in his path again for the throw to 1B. F6 double-pumps then throws late, safe at 1B on BR.

Coach wants BR called out for obstruction because R1 was in the way of the throw. We said no because R1 did as required and got out of the way and was only inadvertently back into the play because of F6's stumbles and bobbles.

Agree or did we boot it?

In no way shape or form was this obstruction, even if the runner had not peeled and cause a normal play to double pump could you ever have OBSTUCTION here.
__________________
3apps

"It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz

"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2007, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz
Speaking of obstruction, had this occur last night in a 14U game; no outs, R1 at 1B, batter hits a one-hopper to F4 who flips to F6 for the easy front end of the double play. R1 sees he is clearly out and peels off toward right field. F6 stumbles after crossing the bag, then bobbles the ball as he regains his balance and tries to throw to 1B (he clearly had possession at 2nd base, so the out stands). But his momentum has now carried him well toward right field several steps such that R1 is now in his path again for the throw to 1B. F6 double-pumps then throws late, safe at 1B on BR.

Coach wants BR called out for obstruction because R1 was in the way of the throw. We said no because R1 did as required and got out of the way and was only inadvertently back into the play because of F6's stumbles and bobbles.

Agree or did we boot it?



Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
In no way shape or form was this obstruction, even if the runner had not peeled and cause a normal play to double pump could you ever have OBSTUCTION here.

You guys really meant to say interferance here, didn't ya.

Edited: You guys are fast on the post
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."

Last edited by Forest Ump; Thu Jun 07, 2007 at 04:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
yeah, sorry guys, I of course meant interference (though the coach was calling it obstruction and I corrected him at the time, and then said it still didn't apply).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
In Fritz's post, why is the runner not out for interference?

He may have try to avoid contact, but he also "altered" the play to first.

?????????? Interference does not have to be intentional????????
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone
?????????? Interference does not have to be intentional????????

INT has to be intentional with a thrown ball (in this case).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE=jicecone]

Quote:
He may have try to avoid contact, but he also "altered" the play to first.

It was F6 who caused his "own alteration" not R1. According to the OP r1 veered away from the play meaning at the time F6 touched the bag he had a "clean shot" to throw to first. He then stumbled etc.

Also, interference on a thrown ball requires intent as opposed to a batted ball which requires no intent.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction? Antonella Softball 25 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:58am
Out or Obstruction? SRW Softball 6 Tue May 23, 2006 02:34pm
Obstruction..... phillips.alex Baseball 19 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:54pm
Obstruction CecilOne Softball 20 Sat Jan 28, 2006 02:00pm
ASA obstruction David Emerling Softball 39 Tue May 20, 2003 10:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1