Quote:
Originally Posted by buckfan31
I am looking for help on clarification of a rule. This actually happened to me twice in a little league game and has been ruled two seperate ways. Here's the situation:
runners on first and second. The batter hits a ground ball. As the runners advance, the runner going from first to second is touched by the batted ball.
The umpire ruled the runner out and the ball dead. Where does the runner going from second to third stop?
It has been ruled that he stops at third, plays dead. And it has been ruled that he goes back to second because the ball was dead.
Under Little League rules 7.08(f) it states that no runners may advance except runners forced to advance. Is this runner considered forced to advance?
Please Help!
|
Don't think of "forced to advance" as having anything to do with the common force out situation, though the line of thinking is kinda the same. "Forced to advance" here just means that when the batter is awarded first base on the interference, he "forces" a runner or runners to move up a base, because two guys can't share the same base, of course.