View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2007, 10:51am
buckfan31 buckfan31 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Need help with rule

I am looking for help on clarification of a rule. This actually happened to me twice in a little league game and has been ruled two seperate ways. Here's the situation:

runners on first and second. The batter hits a ground ball. As the runners advance, the runner going from first to second is touched by the batted ball.
The umpire ruled the runner out and the ball dead. Where does the runner going from second to third stop?

It has been ruled that he stops at third, plays dead. And it has been ruled that he goes back to second because the ball was dead.

Under Little League rules 7.08(f) it states that no runners may advance except runners forced to advance. Is this runner considered forced to advance?

Please Help!
Reply With Quote