The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Contact on a Force Play - FED (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35183-contact-force-play-fed.html)

bob jenkins Thu May 31, 2007 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
Or maybe I'm in a fog this morning because I haven't had enough coffee.;)

Probably. Some slides are illegal if they cause contact -- pop-up, going beyond the base,etc. Some slides are illegal in-and-of themselves -- sliding not into the base and in the direction of a fielder.

Note that of the 6 (or so) "ilelgal slides" in 2-32, some contain the words "and cause contact" (or similar) and some don't.

BigGuy Thu May 31, 2007 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Probably. Some slides are illegal if they cause contact -- pop-up, going beyond the base,etc. Some slides are illegal in-and-of themselves -- sliding not into the base and in the direction of a fielder.

Note that of the 6 (or so) "ilelgal slides" in 2-32, some contain the words "and cause contact" (or similar) and some don't.

So - for 2-32-2a (popup) the contact makes it illegal but for 2-32-2f, it's illegal no matter what.

Just so I'm clear a popup slide in and of itself is NOT illegal unless there is contact, right. That being said, does ANY contact AUTOMATICALLY cause the slide to be illegal, regardless of the severity of the contact, similar to sliding not in a straight line to the base, or does the contact severity or altering the play factor into the decision.

Just for my edification - do you happen to have any old case books that reference a popup slide? Unfortunately the 2007 CB only deals with 2-32-2f. Thanks

David B Thu May 31, 2007 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
So - for 2-32-2a (popup) the contact makes it illegal but for 2-32-2f, it's illegal no matter what.

Just so I'm clear a popup slide in and of itself is NOT illegal unless there is contact, right. That being said, does ANY contact AUTOMATICALLY cause the slide to be illegal, regardless of the severity of the contact, similar to sliding not in a straight line to the base, or does the contact severity or altering the play factor into the decision.

Just for my edification - do you happen to have any old case books that reference a popup slide? Unfortunately the 2007 CB only deals with 2-32-2f. Thanks

I don't have time to research it but I'm sure its in the archives. I posted earlier this year about this type of play at second and I had found a great piece that Carl Childress has written that covers all of these types of plays with a great explanation.

Its probably going to be under FPSR because that is what his paper was about.

But as I stated above, just because you have contact doesn't make it illegal.

Look up 2-32-1 and the definition of a legal slide. If you do a legal slide and make contact there is no problem with the runner.

Then go to 2-32-2. If you have an illegal slide then you have to call the FPSR to penalize the offense.
That would be the pop up slide - but to be illegal it says pop up slide "into the fielder."

That was a new addition that is still not very clear in the rule books but is in the BRD and other books.

Hope that helps

Thanks
DAvid

Edited to add that I found the thread, its a good read about these type of plays

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...2&page=1&pp=15

BigGuy Thu May 31, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B
Then go to 2-32-2. If you have an illegal slide then you have to call the FPSR to penalize the offense.
That would be the pop up slide - but to be illegal it says pop up slide "into the fielder."

Thanks
DAvid

Edited to add that I found the thread, its a good read about these type of plays

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...2&page=1&pp=15

Unfortunately it still doesn't answer my question. In a popup slide situation where there IS contact, is the play AUTOMATICALLY RULED INT or does the severity of the contact or alteration of the play factor into the decision making it a judgment call?

David B Thu May 31, 2007 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
Unfortunately it still doesn't answer my question. In a popup slide situation where there IS contact, is the play AUTOMATICALLY RULED INT or does the severity of the contact or alteration of the play factor into the decision making it a judgment call?


Did he pop up "into the fielder?"

What is the definition of illegal slide? (Hint - 2-32-2a - the last part)

Illegal slide means there is a penalty to the offense ... you take it from there.

As an aside how could he pop up into the fielder and there not be an alteration of the play? The only thing I could think of would be a very slow roller and everyone knows there is no chance for a DP. In that situation you could probably rule that there was no attempt for a DP and thus you could have contact and no FPSR.

Maybe someone else has a case play that would work also ...

Good question though

Thanks
David

Rich Thu May 31, 2007 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
Unfortunately it still doesn't answer my question. In a popup slide situation where there IS contact, is the play AUTOMATICALLY RULED INT or does the severity of the contact or alteration of the play factor into the decision making it a judgment call?

It's an illegal slide that causes contact. I'd bang it every time.

BigGuy Fri Jun 01, 2007 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
It's an illegal slide that causes contact. I'd bang it every time.

That's what I thought -I just wanted some confirmation. Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1