The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 11:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
I agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
Situation: bases loaded and 1 out, count 3-2. Batter apparently pulls back a checkswing on the pitch and the PU awards base on balls.

As the runner from third is jogging from third the catcher casually walks 8 feet up the third base line and tags the runner as they pass, then turns to the plate umpire and wants to appeal the last pitch to the BU for possible strike three call.

Would you allow the appeal and subsequent double play??

This was brought up on another site and I indicated that I wouldn't allow the appeal because there had been too long a delay between the pitch and the appeal. As well, the tag of the R3 was not part of the original play(pitched ball) and I would interpret that as another "play" had taken place and the defence had lost it right to appeal.

How long should the runners remain on their TOP base before ensuring their advance is really without jeopardy of being tagged out as a result of a checkswing appeal??

Comments??
Who says "take your base" after ball four? If I chose to allow the appeal or the subsequent DP, then I would suggest that "take your base" may become an approved verbal mechanic. Until then, I would not allow the appeal, nor the subsequent DP. Besides, it is a live base-on-balls award. The defense by rule is not allowed to register an out on a runner forced to advance as a result of the walk until such an award is completed.

Last edited by SAump; Tue May 29, 2007 at 11:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
When I train umpires, I cringe when I hear a guy working the stick say, "Take your base." I usually yell out, "What base should he take and what should he do with it when he takes it? How long can he keep it? Does he have to give it back?" or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
. Besides, it is a live base-on-balls award. The defense by rule is not allowed to register an out until such an award is completed.
Huh? What rule is this?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Huh? What rule is this?
It is Fed 8-3-b.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2007, 12:48am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
8-3-1b to be exact.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2007, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
. Besides, it is a live base-on-balls award. The defense by rule is not allowed to register an out until such an award is completed.
Huh? What rule is this?
I think the point SAump is trying to make is that the defense cannot get an out on R3 by tagging him before the 'appealed' and ammended third strike. Before that happens, R3 is not in jeopardy. F2 would need to tag after the pitch was changed to a strike.

Can the defense get an out on any of these runners that were forced to advance by an apparent walk before the called ball is changed to a swinging strike?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2007, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to papablue
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
I think the point SAump is trying to make is that the defense cannot get an out on R3 by tagging him before the 'appealed' and ammended third strike. Before that happens, R3 is not in jeopardy. F2 would need to tag after the pitch was changed to a strike.

Can the defense get an out on any of these runners that were forced to advance by an apparent walk before the called ball is changed to a swinging strike?
By George, I think he's got it.
__________________
"Hey, Blue! I thought only horses slept standing up!"
Anonymous
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delayed Asking For help....... Chess Ref Softball 22 Wed May 09, 2007 03:05pm
Delayed Whistle Almost Always Right Basketball 28 Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:07pm
Horn on FT - delayed violation? bgtg19 Basketball 7 Thu Jan 20, 2005 04:17pm
Delayed Entry Just Curious Basketball 13 Sun Dec 09, 2001 10:09pm
Super delayed Violation JamieSlick Basketball 13 Sat Dec 08, 2001 06:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1