![]() |
run down & following runner
yesterday
runners on 2nd & 3rd catcher throws down to 3rd with runner too far off base run down between home and third begins runner from second advances and is standing on third when runner in the run down is headed back to third. The third baseman, with the ball first tags following runner who is on third, and then tags runner before he reaches the base. 2 outs? Why? Why Not? Any rule reference???????? Tell you after I see the responses what I called. |
Quote:
If you called 2 out because R3 was still "entitled" to 3d, you screwed the pooch. The rule about 2 runners occupying the same base only comes into play when they BOTH ACTUALLY ARE ON the same base, and then there is only ONE out: namely the following runner. |
btdt,
I can't add anything to what cbfoulds said, except that he's right. R2 safe, R3 out. JM |
1 out. Why? 'Cause maybe you're thinking R2 is forced off 3B and back to 2B and so he isn't entitled to occupy 3B when tagged, but he is and only one runner was tagged off base.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Why the mystery? It's an easy call.
What are the odds of this guy calling something different, and never coming back? |
Quote:
|
btdt, are you confusing the play in which the runner in a rundown between 3B and home commits interference, and the following runner who has advanced to 3B must return to 2B?
|
Quote:
Or, he'll say he called whatever the majority opinion here was :rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
We'll see, I guess, he's not been back to drop the other shoe yet....... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
is that the corollary to the rule on 'how many posts in a thread before the word 'Hitler' is used?' :D |
Hitler just called from his bunker and said it was a total travesty of the game, and he's kicking Eva Braun out of the bunker.
I had post #14 in the pool...:p |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm. |