The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   run down & following runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35113-run-down-following-runner.html)

btdt Sun May 27, 2007 06:49pm

run down & following runner
 
yesterday
runners on 2nd & 3rd
catcher throws down to 3rd with runner too far off base
run down between home and third begins
runner from second advances and is standing on third when runner in the run down is headed back to third. The third baseman, with the ball first tags following runner who is on third, and then tags runner before he reaches the base.
2 outs?
Why?
Why Not?
Any rule reference????????
Tell you after I see the responses what I called.

cbfoulds Sun May 27, 2007 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
yesterday
runners on 2nd & 3rd
catcher throws down to 3rd with runner too far off base
run down between home and third begins
runner from second advances and is standing on third when runner in the run down is headed back to third. The third baseman, with the ball first tags following runner who is on third, and then tags runner before he reaches the base.
2 outs?
Why?
Why Not?
Any rule reference????????
Tell you after I see the responses what I called.

1 out. Why? 'Cause only one runner was tagged off base.
If you called 2 out because R3 was still "entitled" to 3d, you screwed the pooch.
The rule about 2 runners occupying the same base only comes into play when they BOTH ACTUALLY ARE ON the same base, and then there is only ONE out: namely the following runner.

UmpJM Sun May 27, 2007 07:31pm

btdt,

I can't add anything to what cbfoulds said, except that he's right.

R2 safe, R3 out.

JM

SAump Sun May 27, 2007 07:33pm

1 out. Why? 'Cause maybe you're thinking R2 is forced off 3B and back to 2B and so he isn't entitled to occupy 3B when tagged, but he is and only one runner was tagged off base.

Rcichon Sun May 27, 2007 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
....clipped....
runners on 2nd & 3rd
catcher throws down to 3rd with runner too far off base
run down between home and third begins
runner from second advances and is standing on third when runner in the run down is headed back to third. The third baseman, with the ball first tags following runner who is on third, and then tags runner before he reaches the base.

2 outs?

No
Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
Why?

R2 is safe at 3 now and is the ONLY runner on that base.
Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
Why Not?

R3 is not on 3rd anymore.
Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
Any rule reference????????

7.08[c] (in the abstract).
Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
Tell you after I see the responses what I called.

Why? Getting flamed is a learning experience!:D

kylejt Sun May 27, 2007 10:49pm

Why the mystery? It's an easy call.

What are the odds of this guy calling something different, and never coming back?

cbfoulds Mon May 28, 2007 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt
Why the mystery? It's an easy call.

What are the odds of this guy calling something different, and never coming back?

At this point, I'd guess - very good.

greymule Mon May 28, 2007 10:45am

btdt, are you confusing the play in which the runner in a rundown between 3B and home commits interference, and the following runner who has advanced to 3B must return to 2B?

LMan Mon May 28, 2007 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbfoulds
At this point, I'd guess - very good.


Or, he'll say he called whatever the majority opinion here was :rolleyes:

umpduck11 Mon May 28, 2007 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Or, he'll say he called whatever the majority opinion here was :rolleyes:

He should have written down what he called, sealed it in an email, and opened it for us later..... :p

cbfoulds Mon May 28, 2007 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Or, he'll say he called whatever the majority opinion here was :rolleyes:

I'm REALLY hoping there is no "minority view" on this one: which is what makes me think the the OP'er got it wrong. Why post something this obvious, unless you think you were very clever in "finding" an obscure rule application with an unusual outcome?
We'll see, I guess, he's not been back to drop the other shoe yet.......

Welpe Mon May 28, 2007 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbfoulds
I'm REALLY hoping there is no "minority view" on this one: which is what makes me think the the OP'er got it wrong. Why post something this obvious, unless you think you were very clever in "finding" an obscure rule application with an unusual outcome?
We'll see, I guess, he's not been back to drop the other shoe yet.......

I bet we'll see the phrase "Travesty of the game" before this thread is through...

LMan Mon May 28, 2007 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
I bet we'll see the phrase "Travesty of the game" before this thread is through...


is that the corollary to the rule on 'how many posts in a thread before the word 'Hitler' is used?' :D

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 29, 2007 12:49am

Hitler just called from his bunker and said it was a total travesty of the game, and he's kicking Eva Braun out of the bunker.


I had post #14 in the pool...:p

Welpe Tue May 29, 2007 02:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Hitler just called from his bunker and said it was a total travesty of the game, and he's kicking Eva Braun out of the bunker.


I had post #14 in the pool...:p

Hey isn't that a violation of the 18th Amendment?

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 10:42am

This reminded me of an actual play that occurred during an NCAA game this spring. I swear it, this weird schit always happens in MY games (and no comment needed from you, Mr. Jenkins)...

I'm working the dish. Runners on second and third with 1 out when the batter hits the ball to a drawn in third baseman. R3 heads toward home and gets into a rundown between home and third. Meanwhile, R2 heads toward third and the batter-runner is trotting around first on his way to second.

R3 makes it back to third and is on the base, but so is R2. The defense tags R3 while he's on the base, then as they go to tag R2, HE walks off the base and runs back to second (the batter-runner is standing there). When the defense had tagged R3 on third base, my partner immediately declares him out as R2 runs back toward second and R3 proceeds to come home and cross the plate; but we're not finished here. R2 is tagged out on his way back to second, and the defense walks off the field figuring there are three outs. But are there?

Feel free to comment and I'll fill you in on what I did on this play.

Steven Tyler Tue May 29, 2007 10:47am

I would hope you left R3 on third and B/R on second and corrected your partners mistake.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 10:51am

As I said, I'll chime in later regarding what I did (a couple of things, actually). I can tell you THIS much: I did make sure the final outcome was the correct one. ;)

tibear Tue May 29, 2007 10:54am

Of course, if the offence doesn't do anything you don't do anything but I have a feeling any half decent manager is coming out to discuss the situation.

As the manager is coming out, I would call time and immediately call over the BU to discuss the situation. Inform him that R3 would have been safe when he was tagged on third base because he is has precendence to the bag ahead of R2. Then let him reverse his out call of R3.

At the end I would have BR at second base, 2 outs and run scored.

The defense may complain but ignorance of the rules isn't a defense. (Even if one of the umpires doesn't know the rule.)

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 10:58am

Oh, the manager (a.k.a. head coach) did come out. In fact, he never moves from his chair near the dugout--as the NCAA's all-time winningest head coach I guess he has earned the right to do that, LOL--but when my partner made the call and everything ended, the head coach AND the third base coach were out there on the field arguing. I immediately got out there to separate everyone and talk to my partner. More details to follow...

mcrowder Tue May 29, 2007 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25
As I said, I'll chime in later regarding what I did (a couple of things, actually). I can tell you THIS much: I did make sure the final outcome was the correct one. ;)

If I thought R3 scored BECAUSE of the improper call, we HAVE to put him back on 3rd. And that is probably the case here.

So, I would have 1 out, BR on 2nd, R3 on third, and working the rest of the game solo after I overrule BU on the rules misinterpretation and he leaves in a huff. :)

mcrowder Tue May 29, 2007 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25
Oh, the manager (a.k.a. head coach) did come out. In fact, he never moves from his chair near the dugout--as the NCAA's all-time winningest head coach I guess he has earned the right to do that, LOL--but when my partner made the call and everything ended, the head coach AND the third base coach were out there on the field arguing. I immediately got out there to separate everyone and talk to my partner. More details to follow...

Coach Gus? Or has someone passed him?

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 11:01am

Coach Gillespie, who came out of retirement at the age of 80-something.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 11:02am

Editor's Note: It was an NCAA D3 game playing under NAIA Rules, which is actually irrelevant here, because both NCAA and OBR treat this the same way.

Steven Tyler Tue May 29, 2007 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
Coach Gus? Or has someone passed him?

Augie Garrido has done that.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 02:45pm

Anyway, here's what I did...

When the defense (mistakenly) believed there were 3 outs and ran off the field, I knew that by rule, there were only 2, because R3 was not out at third, my partner's call notwithstanding. So, upon seeing the batter-runner on second and knowing he could or might take off to third, I called "time" and killed everything so I could straighten this mess out.

I went to my partner after politely separating the two coaches from him and asked my partner, "Bob, whom did you call out and why? I just want to clarify this." He said R3. I told him that in this particular situation, because there was no force, R3 retained his right to third base and could not be called out if he was tagged while on the base and R2 was on it, too. Now, because R2 was tagged off a base during his rundown back to second, his out remains. However, what to do with R3?

Neither NCAA nor OBR have any provision for putting R3 back to third--he was not out, remember--and umpire fairness/or correction doesn't come into play here. Because R3 was never out and he legally advanced to home, he became a legally scored run, and a run legally scored in such situations cannot be "unscored." Therefore, I did not disallow his run by sending him back to third base. By rule, he legally scored, and this trumps any idea of correcting an umpire's call (which, BTW, is limited to a very few situations in NCAA/OBR). As a result of R2 being properly out but R3 not, there were only two outs. So, I waved the defense back onto the field and prepared to explain this all to the defensive team's head coach.

Surprisingly, he was rather calm about it--not screaming or ranting--and never did get ejected. However, he kept bringing up the "but you guys screwed up so you have to put that runner back onto third base" argument. I repeatedly but politely explained to him that by rule, I could not do that here and that by rule R3 scored. I think my partner was rather surprised by my wording, as I told Matt, the defensive head coach in question, that "we did indeed make a mistake." Never once did I refer to this as my partner's mistake, even though it was, and never once did I throw my partner under the bus, even though I wanted to. I referred to the screw-up as "we" but emphasized that my decision was final.

He asked me after the inning eventually ended if he could protest the game, but I had to explain to him that he was a bit too late for that. Then he said something that didn't exactly please me when he said, "You guys owe me, Randy. You're gonna have to give something back to me for that."

"I'll pretend I didn't hear that, Matt," was my succinct reply. That was the end of that.

tibear Tue May 29, 2007 03:04pm

Of course I agree with everything you say, except the fact that you shouldn't have overruled your partner but let him change his own call.

Then when the sh%t hits the fan you can step in to help explain the situation but never jump over you partner's head and overrule his call.

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 29, 2007 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Of course I agree with everything you say, except the fact that you shouldn't have overruled your partner but let him change his own call.

Then when the sh%t hits the fan you can step in to help explain the situation but never jump over you partner's head and overrule his call.

This advice you are giving would apply had this been a judgment call. However, this call is a rule interpretation call, which should be immediately addressed by the other umpire, without waiting for that partner to change his own call. You do not overrule a judgment call, but rule calls you need to.

bob jenkins Tue May 29, 2007 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25
I went to my partner after politely separating the two coaches from him and asked my partner, "Bob,

I wish to clarify that I had nothing to do with this play.

tibear Tue May 29, 2007 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
This advice you are giving would apply had this been a judgment call. However, this call is a rule interpretation call, which should be immediately addressed by the other umpire, without waiting for that partner to change his own call. You do not overrule a judgment call, but rule calls you need to.


Steve, I understand what your saying but anytime I see umpire change the call of another umpire (even rule interpretations) I feel it reduces the respect for the original umpire. At least let the guy be man enough to correct his own misunderstanding of the rule.

Everyone knows which umpire knew the rule but shouldn't the umpire who is responsible for making a particular call actually make the call or should the UIC always be the guy to overturn rule interpretations regardless of you actually made the original call?

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 03:19pm

For what it's worth, when Bob explained to me what he did and why, and after I explained to him the mistake, I further explained that R3's out could not stand. As the game's crew chief, I had an obligation to ensure the proper ruling was followed, and Bob agreed with this.

And BTW, it wasn't Bob of this forum's Bob Jenkins.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear

Everyone knows which umpire knew the rule but shouldn't the umpire who is responsible for making a particular call actually make the call or should the UIC always be the guy to overturn rule interpretations regardless of you actually made the original call?

That depends, tibear. Sometimes the umpire making the call will leave it up to the crew chief, other times not. In my game, Bob left it to me without any disagreement.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I wish to clarify that I had nothing to do with this play.

:D :D :D

I just stated this almost at the same time you posted this here.

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 29, 2007 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Steve, I understand what your saying but anytime I see umpire change the call of another umpire (even rule interpretations) I feel it reduces the respect for the original umpire. At least let the guy be man enough to correct his own misunderstanding of the rule.

Everyone knows which umpire knew the rule but shouldn't the umpire who is responsible for making a particular call actually make the call or should the UIC always be the guy to overturn rule interpretations regardless of you actually made the original call?

tibear, I do believe rule 9.04(c) applies in these cases. NCAA 3-6g and 3-6i.

Steven Tyler Tue May 29, 2007 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25
Anyway, here's what I did...

When the defense (mistakenly) believed there were 3 outs and ran off the field, I knew that by rule, there were only 2, because R3 was not out at third, my partner's call notwithstanding. So, upon seeing the batter-runner on second and knowing he could or might take off to third, I called "time" and killed everything so I could straighten this mess out.

I went to my partner after politely separating the two coaches from him and asked my partner, "Bob, whom did you call out and why? I just want to clarify this." He said R3. I told him that in this particular situation, because there was no force, R3 retained his right to third base and could not be called out if he was tagged while on the base and R2 was on it, too. Now, because R2 was tagged off a base during his rundown back to second, his out remains. However, what to do with R3?

Neither NCAA nor OBR have any provision for putting R3 back to third--he was not out, remember--and umpire fairness/or correction doesn't come into play here. Because R3 was never out and he legally advanced to home, he became a legally scored run, and a run legally scored in such situations cannot be "unscored." Therefore, I did not disallow his run by sending him back to third base. By rule, he legally scored, and this trumps any idea of correcting an umpire's call (which, BTW, is limited to a very few situations in NCAA/OBR). As a result of R2 being properly out but R3 not, there were only two outs. So, I waved the defense back onto the field and prepared to explain this all to the defensive team's head coach. Then he said something that didn't exactly please me when he said, "You guys owe me, Randy. You're gonna have to give something back to me for that."

"I'll pretend I didn't hear that, Matt," was my succinct reply. That was the end of that.


I can understand the call from an NCAA/OBR standpoint. As far as the comment about you owe me, I very rarely say anything to coaches, but I do in this case. It's usually a, "Tell the bartender to take it off your tab", or "This isn't a bar and I'm not running a tab here". Like they expect you to stick the screws to the other team because they think you screwed them.

UMP25 Tue May 29, 2007 11:32pm

Had I not known Matt and Matt not known me, I might have responded to him a bit differently; but while I didn't give him any special treatment, I tried to be both empathetic and advisory in the situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1