The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Infield Fly Rule - Ball Drops (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34032-infield-fly-rule-ball-drops.html)

ballingbob Fri Apr 27, 2007 09:40am

Infield Fly Rule - Ball Drops
 
Gentlemen (and ladies),

I had a play the other night that didn't happen but I thought what if it did happen and had questions.

We had runners on first and second and a pop up in the infield while the infield fly rule was in effect. There was some confusion between the fielders and the ball almost dropped to the ground. If it would have dropped, the batter is out but are the runners still safe at first and second if they stay there since they are not being forced to run due to the batter being out? Or do they have to try to advance if it isn't a deliberate drop?

My thoughts were that they could remain on their bases and not have to run.

Thanks

UmpJM Fri Apr 27, 2007 09:44am

ballingbob,

Quote:

My thoughts were that they could remain on their bases and not have to run.
Your thoughts were correct. The whole purpose of the IFF is to protect the offense from a "cheap" DP - because the batter is out, all forces are removed, so the runners are never required to leave their TOP base, whether the ball is caught or not.

It is always their option to leave the base, and if they do, it is the same as any other fair fly; if caught, they are under a retouch obligation, if not, they are not.

JM

TwoBits Fri Apr 27, 2007 09:46am

You are correct. When infield fly is called, the force is off, and the runners do not have to run.

There is another IFF rule thread down the page you may be interested in looking regarding some of the other subtleties of the rule.

ballingbob Fri Apr 27, 2007 09:48am

Thanks Coach

ballingbob Fri Apr 27, 2007 09:51am

Thanks Two Bits, I just noticed it and read it and thought I'd get reamed out like that guy did for not going to the book first. I was just reading through some of the posts and thought I'd post this one. These are very informative.

UMP25 Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:38am

Also, remember that the Intentional Drop rule is moot in Infield Fly situations. This is because the Infield Fly Rule takes precedence; that is, IT is invoked first, rendering the Intentional Drop moot. Of course, there's an exception to this exception: the Intentional Drop can still be invoked with runners on first and second or bases loaded if an infielder intentionally drops a line drive or bunted ball, because the Infield Fly isn't declared in such situations.

Confusing enough? ;)

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:19am

Been a crazy year for me so far...had some calls I've never had before...
1. Intentional Drop
2. Batter out of batters box (bunt attempt w/ one foot out of the box just above the apex of home plate) never thought I'd call it, but it was so obvious, I had to call it last night. He even got away w/ it the first attempt because I wasn't 100% the 1st time.

I'm sure there will be more weird stuff this season.

Note: Umpires...please never, never call an infield fly on a bunt attempt!

BEAREF Fri Apr 27, 2007 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
Been a crazy year for me so far...had some calls I've never had before...
1. Intentional Drop
2. Batter out of batters box (bunt attempt w/ one foot out of the box just above the apex of home plate) never thought I'd call it, but it was so obvious, I had to call it last night. He even got away w/ it the first attempt because I wasn't 100% the 1st time.

I'm sure there will be more weird stuff this season.

Note: Umpires...please never, never call an infield fly on a bunt attempt!

There's nothing wrong here...unless the foot was touching the ground outside the box or the plate... he should have "gotten away" with it the second time also :eek:

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 27, 2007 01:46pm

He "squared around," planting his right foot, outside of the box.

GarthB Fri Apr 27, 2007 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
Been a crazy year for me so far...had some calls I've never had before...
1. Intentional Drop
2. Batter out of batters box (bunt attempt w/ one foot out of the box just above the apex of home plate) never thought I'd call it, but it was so obvious, I had to call it last night. He even got away w/ it the first attempt because I wasn't 100% the 1st time.

I'm sure there will be more weird stuff this season.

Note: Umpires...please never, never call an infield fly on a bunt attempt!

I finally saw a batter make contact with the ball while he had a foot, on the ground, completely out of the box. Problem was...I was the BU.

His team is a good bet to move on to state this year so I had a word with the assistant coach at first and suggested that they might run into a plate ump along the way who was more concerned with feet than the pitch. He thanked me for the heads-up. Next time the kid came up, he had moved back in the box about a foot.

justanotherblue Fri Apr 27, 2007 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
I finally saw a batter make contact with the ball while he had a foot, on the ground, completely out of the box. Problem was...I was the BU.

His team is a good bet to move on to state this year so I had a word with the assistant coach at first and suggested that they might run into a plate ump along the way who was more concerned with feet than the pitch. He thanked me for the heads-up. Next time the kid came up, he had moved back in the box about a foot.


Now that's just good preventive umpiring and a coach smart enough to listen.

GarthB Fri Apr 27, 2007 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue
and a coach smart enough to listen.

nahhh. He was the assistant coach. I figured the head coach must have over heard us.:D

griff901c Sun Apr 29, 2007 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
He "squared around," planting his right foot, outside of the box.

And then what?......Make contact with the ball?.......

Try this...right after your meeting at the plate....GET RID OF THE INSIDE LINES...now what do you do?

Let'm play ball.....

griff

Thom Coste Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by griff901c
And then what?......Make contact with the ball?.......

Try this...right after your meeting at the plate....GET RID OF THE INSIDE LINES...now what do you do?

Let'm play ball.....

griff

Sometimes you don't know where the batter's box is, but you do know where it isn't.

UMP25 Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:33am

Indeed. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1