The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Infield Fly Rule - Ball Drops (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34032-infield-fly-rule-ball-drops.html)

jimpiano Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
Original sitch: Already 1 out, DP is fine.

Would TP be possible? Example: F3 camped below ordinary fly near 1B. Catches ball, steps on 1B to double up R1 and end the inning, and then throws to F5 to to erase run with an apparent 4th out appeal. Now add B/R, knowing R1, R2 and R3 are a sitting ducks on the basepath, interefering with F3 to prevent F3 from catching fly ball. Triple play?

Cant have a triple play under that situation.

SAump Tue May 01, 2007 08:11pm

Soft Question
 
R3, ground ball to F5, throw to F3, no play on R3 running on contact.
Batter-runner deliberately knocks the ball from F3's glove during tag attempt.
The runner on 3B scores before the play at first base.
ASA Ruling?

mcrowder Wed May 02, 2007 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
R3, ground ball to F5, throw to F3, no play on R3 running on contact.
Batter-runner deliberately knocks the ball from F3's glove during tag attempt.
The runner on 3B scores before the play at first base.
ASA Ruling?

BR out. There was no double play here to be prevented - don't see how any ruleset could have an additional out.

njdevs00cup Wed May 02, 2007 08:50pm

[QUOTE=johnnyg08]Been a crazy year for me so far...had some calls I've never had before...
1. Intentional Drop
2. Batter out of batters box (bunt attempt w/ one foot out of the box just above the apex of home plate) never thought I'd call it, but it was so obvious, I had to call it last night. He even got away w/ it the first attempt because I wasn't 100% the 1st time.

I'm sure there will be more weird stuff this season.

Note: Umpires...please never, never call an infield fly on a bunt attempt![/QUOTE

I had an interesting one last night too. A batter missed first base and the ball was thrown into deadball territory. I award the batter second base (he still does not touch first base). The coach was yelling to initiate an appeal when the ball was live. I put the ball back in play, and the right handed pitcher asks for an appeal and throws over without stepping off the rubber.

UMP25 Wed May 02, 2007 10:17pm

Why is the appeal nullified? It's perfectly legal. If you're posting because the ball was thrown out of play, it sounds like that occurred during continuous action. The ball is made live again, then the appeal is allowed. If you're posting that it's nullified because the pitcher threw from the rubber, that's also legal because he's making an appeal.

DragonCoach Fri May 04, 2007 11:06pm

Ifr
 
Is the IFR ever in effect with a runner on first with only 1 out or less? Please advise

LMan Fri May 04, 2007 11:09pm

Runner on 1B only? No.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1