![]() |
|
|||
Batter catches ball
I was doing the bases of a JV game with a rookie umpire behind the plate. No outs, R1 attempts to steal second. Curve ball scares the batter who catches it in self defense. PU calls dead ball then looks at me like he's lost.
I put the runner back on first and then tell him to keep the batter at home. We got together and I asked him if the pitch was in the strike zone. He said no so we charged a ball to the batter. What were my other options? Should we have called it a strike? Could we have ruled the batter out for interfering with a live ball? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fast pitch - batter "catches" the pitch | Dakota | Softball | 16 | Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:06am |
LBR when F1 catches line drive? | IamMatt | Softball | 11 | Mon Jun 12, 2006 01:53pm |
Ball on the batter? | Rachel | Softball | 37 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 07:07am |
Reference, please, catches the tap | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 9 | Thu Mar 03, 2005 04:44pm |
Catches at the fence | WestMichBlue | Softball | 24 | Thu Jun 26, 2003 01:59pm |