![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In an NCAA game, if in the umpire's judgment the batter accidentally contacted the catcher as the pitch was caught, then the pitch is a strike only (not interference), the ball is dead, and the runner returns to first base (unless it was strike 3, where the batter would be out, but not the runner). In OBR, it is almost the same as NCAA, but the wording is "before the catcher has securely held the ball." (see 6.06 (c) Comments). It also uses the language, "unintentionally" instead of "accidentally." The official PBUC interpretation is: "If the batter is in the batter's box and his normal backswing or follow-through unintentionally strikes the catcher or the ball while the catcher is in the act of throwing, "Time" is called and runners return (unless the catcher's initial throw retires the runner)." (So, wait until you see if the catcher's throw gets the runner before calling Time, naturally! ![]() The official PBUC approved mechanic for this call (if the catcher's throw does not retire the runner) is, ""Backswing hit the catcher!" and simultaneously point to the batter, and then yell and signal "Time."
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Wed Apr 18, 2007 at 01:29pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter interference | NickG | Baseball | 8 | Sat Jun 17, 2006 02:54pm |
Batter Interference? | edhern | Baseball | 6 | Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:44pm |
Batter Interference? | Dougster45 | Baseball | 17 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 09:20am |
Batter Interference | oregonjack | Softball | 12 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:28pm |
Batter interference....or not? | Yeggman | Softball | 1 | Mon Apr 05, 2004 05:03pm |