![]() |
|
|
|||
1st and 3rd
Coach tells R1 to walk out into RF in order to try and get defense to act so he can score R3. Pitcher does not react to R1. Catcher returns ball back to pitcher. R1 is still standing in RF. What do you do? Anything?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
this is a classic trick play by the offense...the only thing the defense can really do is to call time...which would require the base runners to return to the base previously occupied. Ultimately, this is simply the R1's lead from 1st. Then the defense decides where to go w/ the play...I've never seen it in real life, just read about it quite a few times.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
dang...i've seen this in print before and now I can't find it...I'll bet somebody on here will have it...or be able to explain it if/when the other coach comes out to argue.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
The defense's best "play" here if they don't want to get the easy out in RF is to simply pitch. Very likely double play if the batter puts the ball in play with a runner way out there.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
Again, I understand it...but when the politely coach comes out to discuss teh call after asking for, and being granted time...I think we owe him a better explanation than simply saying "that's how it is coach..." Thank you for your previous post.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|