The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Mar 31, 2007, 10:27am
Official Forum Member

Stance

why is it that every so called top guy in your organization always critizises the way your stance is behind the plate. i have been doing this for 6 yrs now.
i have tried many and i mean many stances to find a comfort zone and also find what is comfortable to me to be able to get the best look at the zone.
alot of times my stance changes from the way alot of these catchers move.
For one, when a catcher has an 0-2 count and does the 3 feet outside the plate move....i know i aint sitting in the slot no matter what anyone says...have had 2 many pichers throw a fastball inside cause they can't control where they throw...sometimes catchers almost stand when the catch...some are short and are so low you have to move a diffrent way.
there are many fine umps that stay the same place everytime...good for them...i feel to line up over the inside edge of the catchers head to see the slot makes it more comfortable for me...yea, i do like hidind most of my body behind the catcher...i like my bones and need to be at work the next day...noone has ever really complained about my stike zone... so i move with the catcher...is this wrong ?
Old Sat Mar 31, 2007, 10:51am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Mike,

I found that the quickest way to move ahead is to ignore the advice of the 'top guys'. Heck, the game has most likely passed them by.
Old Sat Mar 31, 2007, 11:14am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1989
why is it that every so called top guy in your organization always critizises the way your stance is behind the plate. i have been doing this for 6 yrs now.
i have tried many and i mean many stances to find a comfort zone and also find what is comfortable to me to be able to get the best look at the zone.