The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Bases Loaded Walk... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33277-bases-loaded-walk.html)

Blue37 Tue Apr 03, 2007 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuckfan1
The reason for others saying it had to be a tag, was whether the action was still "hot" or not. Relaxed vs unrelaxed. Guess for that play, its ones own opinion of hot or not.
For me, when during a game (in a non timeout sitch) are things more relaxed than during a walk? What happens on a walk, usually? Pitcher gets the ball back, walks around the mound, looking around, maybe wondering how plate guy missed the pitch. Other fielders are coming out of their "ready" stances putting their hands on their hips, or looking up in the stands. Any runners are slowly (sometimes walking) to the next base. When is it more "relaxed". Basically everyone is in casual mode.
So for me....R3 has given up on the play. I had an out.
On this forum, the most vocal (of course) was the esteemed Tim C. He was on the side of the action still being hot. Needing a tag.
For me there is a difference.. runner coming into home on a hit...slides, misses home...F2 misses tag. Then the obligatory scramble for the plate. Yes, that of course requires a tag. But on the runner being forced home, and blows right by home.....tag of the plate is all I required.

My understanding of relaxed is different from your description. My understanding is that it has nothing to do with the defensive players, and everything to do with the player who missed, or thinks he might have missed, the base. If he is not attempting to return to the base, the action is relaxed. If he has started an attempt to return, no matter how far away he may be, it is unrelaxed.

Is my understanding a misunderstanding?

elie Tue Apr 03, 2007 08:56am

it needs to lecture right ? :)

BigGuy Tue Apr 03, 2007 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
How can you miss a base on a walk?

In Fed a few years ago, I had a runner fail to touch home after being forced in on a walk. He stopped five feet in front of the plate, picked up the bat, and went directly to his bench. The catcher didn't notice, but the defensive coach saw it from the dugout, so they got the out on appeal.

The difference here is the runner actually reached the dugout and has lost his protection. He can be called out on appeal. Because it is an awarded base, the runner can correct a running violation unless a succeeding runner has scored in front of him. For example - R1 goes to second, overruns and F2 decides to make a play throws into OF allowing R2, who has reached 3B, to score. R3 is no longer protected and can be called out on appeal. Until it is clear that R3 no longer is making an attempt to touch HP, I would allow him to touch and score.

Ref: 8-2-5 - ART. 5... If a runner who misses any base (including home plate) or leaves a base too early, desires to return to touch the base, he must do so immediately. If the ball becomes dead and the runner is on or beyond a succeeding base, he cannot return to the missed base and, therefore, is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful appeal.

Of course the operative word in this is immediately. How close is he to dugout, how much time has elasped, etc. It becomes a judgment call.

LMan Tue Apr 03, 2007 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
the runner can correct a running violation unless a succeeding runner has scored in front of him.

How can a succeeding runner score in front of him?

BigGuy Tue Apr 03, 2007 02:13pm

I should have said a following runner, i.e. R2. I used the wrong word by mistake.

Blue37 Tue Apr 03, 2007 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
I should have said a following runner, i.e. R2. I used the wrong word by mistake.

Succeeding is the correct word. It means "following". I think the question regarded the statement "in front of him".

BigGuy Tue Apr 03, 2007 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blue37
Succeeding is the correct word. It means "following". I think the question regarded the statement "in front of him".

Thank you - I had the right intention, just the wrong wording. Somehow, I got ahead of myself!!

umpduck11 Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
Well since it was a live ball the ump should not grant time until all runners have reached their base and play has ended. At which point the appeal is still an option.

And that's exactly what happened. All runners had reached, or passed, in the case of R3, their awarded bases. BU grants time for the defensive coach.
Runner is sent back to the plate after time is called, and touches home, while the ball is dead. D coach has his team appeal when ball is put into play, and plate umpire rings him up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1