![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
BktBallRef,
#1. It depends where the runner was when the errant throw left the infielder's hand. If the batter had already reached 1B at that point in time (and if any other runners had also reached their advance base) the award is 2 bases from that point in time - i.e., 3B. Otherwise, the award is 2 bases from the time the pitcher initiated his pitching motion - i.e., 2B. #2. The umpire has demonstrated a lot of potential to become a coach. It makes no difference which way the runner was headed. Two bases beyond his last legally attained base - i.e., 3B. #3. Sounds like they got this one right - sort of. The point in time that the ball went out of play is not relevant. If the errant throw resulted from the first play by an infielder AND the BR had not reached 1B at the time of the throw, the award is 2 bases Time of Pitch - i.e., 2B for the batter. JM (edited to correct typos)
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Fri Mar 30, 2007 at 08:02pm. |
|
|||
|
Dave, long enough for what? And isn't that the ultimate insult..." you ump like a coach, blue" ( Needless filler so my response will be longer then Hensley's).
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Hey, I'll use that on a coach...." don't get pithy with me, coach!!"
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| COMMENTS GENTLEMEN | livtrav | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 08, 2005 09:56pm |