![]() |
|
|
|||
The awarding of "the base you were retreating to plus one" is so common a myth that I wonder whether anyone has ever extended that principle to its logical result on other plays:
Abel on 1B is stealing on the pitch. Baker lines a ball into right-center. Abel is on his way to 3B when F9 makes a diving catch. Abel, retreating, is between 2B and 3B when F9 throws the ball over F3 and into DBT. Since Abel was between 2B and 3B when the throw left F9's hand, his two-base award would be 2B and 1B! And if we stretch it further, if Abel had been stealing and Baker hit a long, high drive that F9 ended up catching, and Abel was actually around 3B when the ball left F9's hand, Abel would be awarded 3B and 2B, though I guess he'd still have to retouch 1B. If he was really fast and had already scored when the ball left the fielder's hand, they'd have to put him at 3B after his reverse award of home and 3B. (Since the OP cited NFHS, I know the runner would not be able to return legally unless he actually made it back around 2B when the ball entered DBT. So we'll have to make my plays OBR. Still, the "one plus one" myth is common in both.)
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Sat Mar 31, 2007 at 08:10am. |
|
|||
Quote:
That being said, there are officials who make the wrong call based on rule misinformation everywhere. So just ask around if you need to pick up some games. ![]() Thanks for the replies, guys.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
1 out,R1. Flyball to right, R1 goes 1/2 way to 2nd, does not retag 1B.
F9 makes the catch sees R1 returning to 1B, he throws to F3 at 1B to try and double R1 off. The ball goes into DBT. Brace yourselves: in USSSA Slow Pitch Softball the award is 2nd base, the base he must retag and one. I lost an appeal of this very play in a state tournament, I was a player. Now interestingly enough, same play with R1 tagging then being thrown behind, returning towards 1B when the ball goes out of play, is indeed awarded 3B.. Pretty bizarre if ya ask me, or several thousand other umpires. Do you think we ever get the wrong call by Umpires that cross over and also do USSSSA baseball?
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
COMMENTS GENTLEMEN | livtrav | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 08, 2005 09:56pm |