![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
PA says it's a ball any time the pitcher goes to the mouth while on the rubber whether he wipes or not (except after he's come set or assumed one of the windup positions, then it's a balk). So pretty much it's exactly like the pro rule except replace "18 foot circle" with "rubber" in the wording of the rule.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Quote:
Nobody on. Pitcher on the rubber. Goes to his mouth then touches the ball. Dead ball. Ball to batter. Nobody on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth, wipes off, goes to ball. Nothing Runners on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth. Dead immediately. Balk. I'm guessing the latter is because of the movement, not because he went to his mouth. |
|
|||
Quote:
Runner on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth. BALL Runner on. Pitcher on rubber and set, both hands in front of his body. Goes to mouth. BALK, not for going to his mouth but for separating his hands after being set. |
|
|||
The IHSA rules interpreter said that in Illinois we are to call a balk immediately with runners on and the pitcher goes to his mouth. With no runners it is a BALL only if he fails to wipe off.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
But what happens when you don't call whats written in the book and are questioned by a manager as to why you're ignoring a certain rule? Is there going to be a protest that will be upheld? For this example, "Blue, that's a balk! You gotta call that!" In response, the umpire steps in it and says, "I know that's what's written, but I was told to let it go." Are we going to be backed up? I would hope so, but there are no guarantees. This, IMO, is hanging the officials out to dry. Why not just follow OBR in this case? I see no safety issue, so is the NFHS just being stubborn?
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Illinois requires a coach attend the rules meeting so they have heard the same thing we have, and should not have to deal with that of a coach saying but in the book it states.......
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Any comment JM?
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
I was not implying sneaking anything past any one I was just stating that Illinois has the coaches’ attend the rules meeting.
The umpire would not have to tell the coach that it states one thing in the rule book and the umpire is calling it another way. By state association they have adopted a different interpretation of the current rule. |
|
|||
It would be interesting to see how the FED responds to a written statement from IL that they refuse to call this.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!" |
|
|||
At my rules interp meeting we got the following
Off the rubber - wipe - NO PENALTY Off the rubber - no-wipe - BALL On the rubber - no runners - either way - BALL On the rubber - runners - either way - BALK They have basically said they are ignoring the rule change and reverting to last year. These interpretations came off of the IHSA rules interpretation powerpoint presentation. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Stopping fanboys | Dribble | Basketball | 40 | Sun May 21, 2006 07:10pm |
Stopping the Clock | donaldm4 | Football | 7 | Sun Jan 04, 2004 06:24pm |
Stopping Play | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:23am |
Stopping the clock | coachmac43 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 04, 2003 04:10am |
Stopping the clock | White hat9 | Football | 29 | Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:15am |