![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
It is NOT legal in NFHS (see 6-1-2). Penalty -- The ball is dead immediately when an illegal pitch occurs. A ball is awarded the batter (with no one on) |
|
|||
Only in NFHS... seems they like to award the offense for just about anything the pitcher does no matter a runner on or not. Their reasoning, if it's illegal with a runner on, it should be with no runners on. Regardless of an advantage gained or not.....so... illegal... ball to batter, balk if runners on
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Quote:
In Illinois the IHSA says it's still a balk. Bringing the hand up is the start of the pitching motion. Balk. I never had a problem of pitchers doing this when it was illegal anyway. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
PA says it's a ball any time the pitcher goes to the mouth while on the rubber whether he wipes or not (except after he's come set or assumed one of the windup positions, then it's a balk). So pretty much it's exactly like the pro rule except replace "18 foot circle" with "rubber" in the wording of the rule.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Quote:
Nobody on. Pitcher on the rubber. Goes to his mouth then touches the ball. Dead ball. Ball to batter. Nobody on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth, wipes off, goes to ball. Nothing Runners on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth. Dead immediately. Balk. I'm guessing the latter is because of the movement, not because he went to his mouth. |
|
|||
Quote:
Runner on. Pitcher on rubber. Goes to mouth. BALL Runner on. Pitcher on rubber and set, both hands in front of his body. Goes to mouth. BALK, not for going to his mouth but for separating his hands after being set. |
|
|||
Quote:
But what happens when you don't call whats written in the book and are questioned by a manager as to why you're ignoring a certain rule? Is there going to be a protest that will be upheld? For this example, "Blue, that's a balk! You gotta call that!" In response, the umpire steps in it and says, "I know that's what's written, but I was told to let it go." Are we going to be backed up? I would hope so, but there are no guarantees. This, IMO, is hanging the officials out to dry. Why not just follow OBR in this case? I see no safety issue, so is the NFHS just being stubborn?
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Quote:
I would suggest using the rule and case book on that one. Both have it right. That is... it's illegal while in contact with the rubber to go to the mouth regardless with runners on or not, balk with. Look at 6-2-1A in the case book. Those wonderful Fed interps or is it twerps... have it wrong. This will also keep you from pulling out your teeth and hair tying to figure out how they could come up with such a ruling. I also keeps it in line with all other rules sets. That was their intent IMHO.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right. |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW- any of you older guys remember if FED ever had the rule book even remotely close to OBR as far as wording and layout? I've been doing this for about 9 years, and the first time I read the FED book, I was blown away.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Stopping fanboys | Dribble | Basketball | 40 | Sun May 21, 2006 07:10pm |
Stopping the Clock | donaldm4 | Football | 7 | Sun Jan 04, 2004 06:24pm |
Stopping Play | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:23am |
Stopping the clock | coachmac43 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 04, 2003 04:10am |
Stopping the clock | White hat9 | Football | 29 | Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:15am |