The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
What has happened to require R3 to be called out? Nothing, yet.
R3 cannot retreat back to 2nd in this sitch. He's out for abandonment.

Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
R3 cannot retreat back to 2nd in this sitch. He's out for abandonment.

Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
The pitcher has not assumed his pitching position ... play is still ongoing.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
The pitcher has not assumed his pitching position ... play is still ongoing.
Since R3 is R3 and not R2, the pitcher has assumed a position with the runner in question on third base.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Ok here it goes, Cece says the same as the first poster R2 is out for over running the precedding runner, Why you say??

He answers this with a question, same play, R3 trips on third to the outfield side, However the throw is an overthrow, and R3 proceeds to head Home, DOES HE NEED TO RETOUCH THIRD?? -- Yes he does, Therefore he must have retreated, and now R2 is infront of him. This is a fun debate, and after listening, I think I agree with Cece. Also Cece says he and Roder have argued on this rule before.
__________________
3apps

"It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz

"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Since R3 is R3 and not R2, the pitcher has assumed a position with the runner in question on third base.
But that's not what the rule says. It doesn't say "and the pitcher has assumed his position." It says "and the pitcher assumes his position." The pitcher must be in position for this rule to apply.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire
But that's not what the rule says. It doesn't say "and the pitcher has assumed his position." It says "and the pitcher assumes his position." The pitcher must be in position for this rule to apply.
OOOOFFFF! This thread is making my head hurt!
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2007, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
What no rebuttal to Cece's take on the play??
__________________
3apps

"It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz

"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
What no rebuttal to Cece's take on the play??

I'm all for Cece on this one, though I did say I would conform to Roder. but like any good democrat I retain the right to flip flop at any moment, so I'm officially back to Cece.

As far as rebuttal, we were kinda doing that even before Roder and Ceces opinions came out. They've just confirmed what a lot of us determined 2 or 3 pages ago, that this is not a black and white issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1