The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Remember R2 is still on 3B. It would confuse me if I saw R3 heading to 2B.

OBR 7.08 (i) After he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game. The umpire shall immediately call “Time” and declare the runner out;

Yes, I feel the criteria of OBR 7.08(i) has been met. I thought this rule requires a runner to make an attempt to remain on his last legally acquired base or make an attempt to advance onward to the next base. R3 would be declared out for failing to maintain his last legally acquired base and retreating back toward 2B, while R2 has legally acquired 3B.
What criteria were met?

How was he confusing the defense (not you, the defense)?

How was it a travesty?

I'm really glad you're too far away to ever have one of my games.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
R2 is on 3B and R3 makes it safely back to 2B.
Do you have anything other than R3 being out?
Yes, I have R2 out and R3 safe on 2nd. R3 can only be called out for running the bases in reverse if he is doing it to confuse the defense or to make a travesty of the game. Desperately trying to get to a base safely is neither of these.

In our case, we have R3 between 3rd and 2nd with F5 between R3 and 3rd. So he is now in a run down between 3rd and 2nd and may legally retreat to 2nd base.

R2 is out for allowing himself to get in front of R3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
R2 is on 3B and R3 makes it safely back to 2B.
Do you have anything other than R3 being out?
What has happened to require R3 to be called out? Nothing, yet.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
What has happened to require R3 to be called out? Nothing, yet.
R3 cannot retreat back to 2nd in this sitch. He's out for abandonment.

Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
R3 cannot retreat back to 2nd in this sitch. He's out for abandonment.

Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
The pitcher has not assumed his pitching position ... play is still ongoing.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
The pitcher has not assumed his pitching position ... play is still ongoing.
Since R3 is R3 and not R2, the pitcher has assumed a position with the runner in question on third base.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Ok here it goes, Cece says the same as the first poster R2 is out for over running the precedding runner, Why you say??

He answers this with a question, same play, R3 trips on third to the outfield side, However the throw is an overthrow, and R3 proceeds to head Home, DOES HE NEED TO RETOUCH THIRD?? -- Yes he does, Therefore he must have retreated, and now R2 is infront of him. This is a fun debate, and after listening, I think I agree with Cece. Also Cece says he and Roder have argued on this rule before.
__________________
3apps

"It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz

"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Since R3 is R3 and not R2, the pitcher has assumed a position with the runner in question on third base.
But that's not what the rule says. It doesn't say "and the pitcher has assumed his position." It says "and the pitcher assumes his position." The pitcher must be in position for this rule to apply.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire
But that's not what the rule says. It doesn't say "and the pitcher has assumed his position." It says "and the pitcher assumes his position." The pitcher must be in position for this rule to apply.
OOOOFFFF! This thread is making my head hurt!
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
R3 attempt to switch places with R2 is confusing to the defense.
Or maybe just to you.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
R2 is on 3B and R3 makes it safely back to 2B.
Do you have anything other than R3 being out?
Stick with the play at hand.

R3 didn't go back to 2B - he tripped over 3B and fell toward the outfield. You invented the R3 returning to 2B out of the murky depths of your imagination - in which case you could call R2 is out for passing R3 and leave R3 at 2B.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1